The Darkest Hour And Dunkirk , My comments on the movie

in #movie6 years ago

churchill.jpg

dunkirk.jpg

I am a history buff . History teaches us about our past . People , Places and Events that have happened . As a person who believes that "There is nothing new under the Sun" and "New faces and places might change but people don't" it makes history very important . History gives us a look of where we were , where are at and where we will be . The lessons from our past should have taught something . Unfortunately they have not only to be repeated .

Dunkirk
I waited a long time for The movie Dunkirk to come out . It is an event that I studied with great passion and empathy . The sheer scale of sacrifice , heroism , determination , horror , will and the ability of a nation to adapt , overcome and prevent an even bigger disaster is awe-inspiring .
The movie to me was a picture of the Soldiers of Dunkirk as being cowardly , self-serving , spineless and in the worst sprite of mankind . The only thing that could have made this movie worse would have been to add a love scene in it . As you can see my opinion of what took place in Dunkirk and what the director Christopher Nolan saw were different .
I do understand that each person on that beach for a week had many emotions to conquer and overcome . To me that is a totally different subject then "Dunkirk"

chir.jpg

Darkest Hour
I liked this movie , a little slow . Overall it captured the sprite of the events . A man put in a position of leadership surrounded by politics and self ambitions . Having to make decisions that you know people will die . with the only question "How Many" . As an admirer of Churchill I felt the picture was well done . See it for your self

I don't usually say to much about films . I pay less attention to actors and actresses . I don't care to hear their opinion or the higher then thou attitude . Or anyone else who thinks they now how to live my life better then I do . Waiting so long for Dunkirk and then seeing it really got my goat . I don't watch TV or movies that much so maybe my expectation were to high .

so with that I will leave you and bid you good day .

.
.
.Minnows discussing with Minnows , Minnows helping Minnows
https://discord.gg/EagC4Zz

Sort:  

I liked Tom Hardy in Dunkirk. I really don't think movies portray history accurately at all.

you did't up vote this post did you . its over 7 days
I waited years for a war movie about Dunkirk . studied it many years ago . was totally upset , They just through history out the window and make up shit .
How the Fuck can you imagine how it feels to be in a battle if you never had your ass . .......
I better stop :)

I think so, I forgot to check the date, its kinda hard remembering all the stuff on here. They could have made it a lot easier is some aspects.

Yeah they do that with a lot of history. It is not what is factual, but what sells. The public wants a hero, a villain, and a story. Sometimes you don't get all three, especially in history. Usually it is all villains.

My pet peeve is religion. They love to twist it to suit their needs at the moment but, it is never what actually happen or what is meant in the texts. I use to know all of them, not by verse, but the basic make-up and did know a lot of the verses. I taught myself through high school. I just loved trying to figure out what the power of it was.

I agree you can never know what something is like, unless you walked it. That is what drives me nuts with social media in the aspect of judgement of people, that you have no idea what you are talking about. You only think you do or you want to be popular and you say stupid shit that you have no clue about. It drives me nuts.

My pet peeve is religion. They love to twist it to suit their needs

They just put verses out like they are some special voice from God and your just some dumb sheep . they claim to be called by God what they don't know is that I was called to call them out .
I like my bible and understand it . I don't know what book they read cause they screwed the hole thing up with their false interpretation . I love taking a subject and figuring it out . down to its logical conclusion . and most of the time not whats being taught .

I should have just said , "yea me to " :)

yes, exactly. I love debating with them.

It Only happens once , when their position can no longer be defended they not only stop talking to you but will never make eye contact again .
I find that so funny and childish

Yes it is. However, it makes my day :) I have debated priest before and won, well they called a truce. Awww my younger years lol. I am looking into getting my doctorate in religious studies and human behavior, but I have to get an income going first.

nice . I was think the same thing years ago but life change all that years ago (not the dumbass behavior part)
Whenever you are ready for a good debate bring it on , sister :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69067.71
ETH 3754.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72