Why I Was A Little Disappointed With Spider-Man Homecoming

in #movie7 years ago (edited)

As a huge Marvel fan, I've been drooling for a chance to see Spider-Man enter the MCU with his own movie. It has happened and I have to say, I was a little disappointed.

The movie was good, but I was a little mad when I left because I feel like I had seen it all before... when I watched the trailers. There were no real surprises in the entire movie. Why? With Guardians, they didn't give away the movie in the trailer and it was awesome with a lot of surprises. Spider-Man, not so much.

When I left I felt like I had wasted my time. I got the whole thing in two minutes on YouTube.

The other thing that really bothered me was the language and dirty humor. I expect that from hero outlaws roaming the galaxy that is why we didn't take my kids to see Guardians in the theater. I expected of all the Spider-Man movies this one to be the least vulgar. Instead it was almost the opposite.

I get that the dirty humor is like it is in real high school, but they toned down T.I. and Ant Man's crew to make it age appropriate. Why couldn't they tone down the vulgarity in Spider-Man? 

Peter Parker and his web slinging skills should be an entry point into the MCU for young viewers, but after the movie, I don't think that is a good idea. It kinda fails in that category.

The movie was good, it was funny in some spots that were mostly covered in the trailers, and Tony Stark was in the movie too which worked. It just was a little forced at the end. I won't spoil it, but I wasn't overly excited about the end. 

To me, the movie was good. I rank it somewhere below Thor 2 and above IronMan 3. 

It was good, but I had such high hopes for this movie after the trailers, but they gave too much away for free to be excited about my movie going experience.

If the end of Thor 3 is Hulk fighting Thor, then I'll start to really get mad. I hope it is at the beginning like it should be and the ending is not spoiled like Spider-Man was. 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Let me know your thoughts on Spider-Man in the comments below. 

To all my followers, you are awesome!!! Thank you.

Sort:  

I have a bit the same opinion as you for the film. It is not catastrophic but I got a little annoyed.

I agree and I hate to say that, but I think you are right. I was annoyed at the end. lol. Great GIF by the way.

Nooooo. 😣😣😣 i was super hopeful! I at least enjoy the dirty humor! To each their own.

Go see it, it is worth seeing, or maybe wait for BluRay. It was good and a worthy addition to the MCU but like I said. The dirty humor is fine if you don't have an 8 year-old watching with you. you picked up a new follower.

Right! That would definitely alarm me. It's too bad that most of the scenes were given away in the trailers. Leaves nothing to the imagination. Will i love Tom Holland better than Andrew Garfield? Was it more true to the comics?

I liked garfield, I thought he did a good job. Tom Holland did a good job, I have no real complaints. The comic references were different because of Ironman's involvement but some subtle nods to the comics. It fell in the MCU though. They did a good job there. If you are a fan you'll like it, but it won't blow you away.

😔 I want to be WOW-ed. It's kind of tough when you're competing with 2 completely different versions of Spider-man, but this was their chance to shine. I think i'll save my $9.25 and wait for it on Redbox. Probably come back to this post in a few months and we can have this conversation again. Haha 😝

It is good. I'm not saying it isn't, but I just feel they revealed too much. Just don't take an 8-year-old with you. lol

You got it. 👌🏽

I kinda disagree and I think it was pretty good movie. As someone who did not see the trailers and just saw it blind. I think it was a starting classic origin and teen movie just with superheroes. The problem with the other series of movies was there was no build up and that it fell flat on its face in the next movie. This movie made me think about this spiderman as bit arrogant and just annoying. There were not as many quips but it makes sense that he is just starting out. He fails at knowing about variety of things throughout the movie. But it built him up in way that I can see him be an incredible hero in the next movies. It was similar to capt america the first one as it was constrained in theme and I think it will have similar payoff. Again it just my opinion.

And an awesome opinion it is. I agree with what you are saying for sure. It is a good movie, but it had a lot of hurdles to overcome. I like that it didn't have the uncle Ben story, and the father son relationship was more about Tony. It makes it interesting. If you go back and watch the trailer, you will see what I am talking about. Plus the language was disappointing too.

Always feel free to agree or disagree and add you opinion anytime! Thanks for reading.

I kinda do see know with watching the trailers, I am just glad I got to see it without spoiling myself. The art of making a trailer is a lost art and I think they spoil more than they should have. It not a perfect film, there are a lot of inconsistencies and a bit cringing sometimes that you can tell it was trying to incorporate the universe to Spiderman. However it starting a launch pad to make something that might take it to the next level in the series overall. Anyway your welcome and have a good day.

I have yet to see it, but really appreciate this review. Everything I've been hearing so far from people has just been "It's good! It's good!" with little explanation. Usually that means I'll feel about the way you seem to. I'll have to see it soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63508.13
ETH 2493.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68