Murder on the Orient Express: A Journey you should go on

in #movie7 years ago

I went to go see Murder on the Orient Express last night and it was fantastic. I had never come across the original movie so I was completely unbiased and had no idea of what was to come. I was not disappointed.

murder-on-the-orient-express-poster-cast-696x300.jpg

SOURCE

This movie had me more invested in its plot and characters than any movie I've seen in a long time. This movie succeeds in a place very few movies do: in its ability to juggle so many wonderfully written characters played by a such a huge cast of amazing actors and have them all end up feeling fleshed out is astounding. I don't know if I have ever seen a movie balance its cast so well with this many characters. I felt like I got to know all of them through storytelling that didn't feel like exposition being shoved down my throat.

MOTOE-Trailer-release-website.jpg

SOURCE

If I had to describe this movie in one word it would be the word "art." The camera work and sets were brilliant. Kenneth Branagh knew exactly what he wanted his movie to be, and the energy he puts into his character is amazing. He stole every scene he was in, which I imagine is very difficult to do when you are sharing scenes with Johnny Depp and directing the movie. The mystery novel this movie is based on is a classic and I would stake a claim that this movie does it proper justice

It wasn't the movie I enjoyed the most this year but if I had the opportunity to vote in the Oscars, this movie would have my vote.

Thank you for reading and have a great day!

Sort:  

As a librarian, it is my duty to advise reading the original Agatha Christie book.

Absolutely

I love it.
Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome

I am so glad I went on that ride with you. Great movie!! Great review!!

@trumpit, just amazing review, dude! You're so going places if you keep up this kind of quality content with with so much heart and realness behind it! I agree with everything you said about this movie, only you said it way better (and in more detail) than I ever could have!

As a person who has seen every film adaptation of this particular tale, I have to say that I was already excited to see this new take on the story, but now I am dying to watch it! What a tantalizing review, gonna have to take a trip to CDA now, lol! Thanks @trumpit!

This post has received gratitude of 14.29 % from @appreciator thanks to @gringalicious.

I've actually seen this movie before, but it's been awhile. I thought they came out with a remake when I first saw this. Now I'm in the mood to watch the movie again. I'll have to do that here in a little bit. I'll be downloading it from here: https://yts.ag/browse-movies/murder%20on%20the/all/all/0/latest. Thanks for the reminder.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68212.63
ETH 2645.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69