"Death Note" Not the Best Adaptation of a Great Show

in #movie7 years ago (edited)

Death Note is a fantastic anime/manga, but the movie isn't.

Disclaimer: I haven't read the manga so I will just be talking about the anime, also this movie is rated R and I will be using a disturbing picture. I tried to focus on different things than most other reviews.

death-note-poster-expo-600x328.jpg

SOURCE

The movie starts promising enough. It introduces the main characters very well and starts the plot really quickly. It shows the death note fall from the sky in the first few minutes and thus the plot starts.
Light finds the Death Note on the ground and stores it in his backpack. Later that day he pulls it out in detention when the room goes dark and a figure comes out of the dark and we are introduced to Ryuk (played brilliantly by Willem Defoe) who encouraged Light to use the death note to get revenge on the school bully. This is the one thing I think was better about the movie than the anime, the crazy, over-the-top, Final Destination, gory death scenes. Although, this is not nearly enough to keep the movie from being mediocre at best.

death note.jpg

SOURCE

The main character Light Yagami/Turner adopted the alias Kira to be the name behind the killing. He was very miscast and was supposed to be a cold, calculating genius, but this movie portrays him as a dorky naive teen who refuses to kill any innocent people. Though in the anime he kills an innocent person in the third episode to cover his tracks, feeling no remorse because in his eyes he is "GOD" and everything he does is justified. He's also way more careful and smart about how he kills people in the anime, not a teenager that isn't sure what he is doing. He definitely doesn't get caught in the first week of being Kira either.

Now for L, in the anime he is really calm and collected like a predator stocking his prey he reminds me of the Creepypasta the Rake.

Thereake.jpg

SOURCE

L death note.jpg

SOURCE

A cold unfeeling predator, with dead calculating eyes. A hunched husk of a human, and pale as a sheet of paper. A genius.
He started his investigation by hijacking all streaming platforms in Japan because that is were the majority of the victims had been. He then started to publicly mock and threaten Kira. As a test, he then revealed his "real face"and when he didn't die, he then showed his "real name." Less than a minute later of this information being public, the man on TV died on live television of a heart attack like all the other victims.
This then told L not only that Kira was in Japan, but that he needed the name and the face of his victims to kill them, and so the hunt began. Whereas in the movie he goes on TV and goes, "Well I'm not dead so he obviously needs both my face and my name." and they never explain how he knows this. Also he is a lot less like a predator and more like Jesse Eisenberg's Lex Luther in the movie.

mia death note.png

SOURCE

Now for Mia/Misa in the anime she falls in love with Light because Kira killed her parent's murderer. For this reason, she doesn't mind being used by Light at all, in fact she loves being a tool for her "GOD" Kira.
In the movie she falls in love with Light because he lets her be part of Kira. It's funny because their roles swap from the anime to the movie. In the anime she is Light's tool, in the movie Light is her tool, she only sticks with him so that she can kill anybody she wants. Shes more of a psychopath in the movie, than a naive girl who blindly follows her "Lord" and is grossly mistreated for it

These are the main things that drove me crazy about this movie, though not everything, but if I kept going I wouldn't stop anytime soon, so here is where I stop.

Thanks for reading my opinions and thoughts on this movie.

Have a great day.

Sort:  

Great to see you posting again. Keep these coming!!

Worst death note ever!!!!
Agree!!!!
Resteemed & followed

Thank you so much for the resteem and follow

Good review! I like your sense of humor:) Upvoted!

Thank you very much

Hey @trumpit. So good to see you again. I love your take, give us more of these!!

I actually just watched a bit of this last night but I have not finished it yet it seems pretty interesting and that beast looks creepy!

Well if the concept interests you, I highly recommend the original show. I also recommend reading about the Rake as well. Thank you for reading

I love the books and the series was good too! Never seen the movie, though! Thanks for the review... but I think I'll stick to the books. They are always the better version if you ask me. If you love reading anime I can strongly recommend battle royale... so much better than the movies they made. Have a great day!

Yeah you too. Thank you for reading.

You should definitely read the manga @trumpit. All I'm to say is that it has different things from the anime. The movie on the other hand had me very disappointed.

I will definitely check it out. Thank you for reading.

I haven't seen it yet, but I definitely wanna check it out. I always liked the series but yeah I can also see how this movie could dropped the ball

Its not unwatchable but nowhere near as good as the show

This post has received a 42.11 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @gringalicious. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

I still love the japanese version of it...

Absolutely

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66