MUST TO SEE MOVIES - My Personal Recommendation

in #movie6 years ago (edited)

I think we all stuck in a moment at least once in which we couldn't find a movie to watch.
In last year or two I've watched a lot of really quality and good movies. I personally, like the action and comedy genre the most, but I'll put a list and my opinion for each movie. There will be included almost all classes of movies.

All the citation and information is found at IMDb

COMEDY

  • GET HARD (2015)
    Directed by: Etan Cohen
    Starring: Will Ferrell, Kevin Hart, Alison Brie
    2 Nominations: Golden Trailer Awards 2015 & MTV Movie + TV Awards 2016

When millionaire James King is jailed for fraud and bound for San Quentin, he turns to Darnell Lewis to prep him to go behind bars.

image.png
src

I'm starting with this movie because it's so hilarious, one of my favorite comedy movies. I like how it is directed in a way of contrast - first of all 2 main actors are black and white. These 2 comedians are very talented and can make any movie funny. Although, James King (Will Ferrel) played his role so well. The real breaker of prejudice who plays a white wealthy guy who joined black gang. If you like comedies, I warmly recommend this one.

COMEDY/MISTERY/CRIME

  • GAME NIGHT (2017)
    Directed by: John Francis Daley, Jonathan Goldstein
    Starring: Jason Bateman, Rachel McAdams, Kyle Chandler

A group of friends who meet regularly for game nights find themselves trying to solve a murder mystery.

image.png
src

This is, I think, the last movie I've watched in cinema and I've never regret that. One of the few comedies that really made me laugh. The movie itself is filmed very well and has a lot of elements of intrigue and mystery. There are reversals and puzzles which are holding tension. This is a really MUST TO SEE movie.

COMEDY/SCI-FI/ADVENTURE

  • HOT TUBE TIME MACHINE (2010)
    Directed by: Steve Pink
    Starring: John Cusack, Rob Corddry, Craig Robinson
    5 Nominations: Golden Schmoes Awards 2010, Golden Trailer Awards 2015, Online Film & Television Association 2011, Teen Choice Awards 2010

A malfunctioning time machine at a ski resort takes a man back to 1986 with his two friends and nephew, where they must relive a fateful night and not change anything to make sure the nephew is born.

image.png
src

This is like evergreen movie. I've watched it 3 times and enjoyed every time. It's cool and funny because it's about reunite of high-school best friends about 20 years later. A lot of elements in a movie is well-connected and I like it how the producer kept the character and behavior of characters in the movie. It's twisted and a lot of fun.

CRIME/DRAMA

  • STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON (2015)
    Directed by: F. Gary Gray
    Starring: O'Shea Jackson Jr., Corey Hawkins, Jason Mitchell
    Nominated for 1 Oscar. Another 27 wins & 40 nominations!

The group NWA emerges from the mean streets of Compton in Los Angeles, California, in the mid-1980s and revolutionizes Hip Hop culture with their music and tales about life in the hood.

image.png
src

This movie is so unique, I couldn't get it out of my head for days. It's filled with deep emotions, with a tough, but vital war for right to life. Well-known black rappers and actors are involved. It's about hard life and the real struggles black people had in the back days cause of police harassment they suffered. Between rows is a story of mixed survival and the road to the top.
That's the history you won't learn in schools.

DRAMA/ROMANCE/FANTASY

  • THE LAKE HOUSE (2006)
    Directed by: Alejandro Agresti
    Starring: Keanu Reeves, Sandra Bullock, Christopher Plummer
    2 Nominations: Alliance of Women Film Journalists 2006, Teen Choice Awards 2006
    2 Wins: Hollywood Film Awards 2006, Teen Choice Awards 2006

A lonely doctor, who once occupied an unusual lakeside house, begins exchanging love letters with its former resident, a frustrated architect. They must try to unravel the mystery behind their extraordinary romance before it's too late.

image.png
src

A real drama/romance movie with fantasy elements. The story of the movie is really from the next world. It's about a different type of fantasy love between 2 people. I think producer wanted to convey a message how strong a love actually is. The best movie to watch with your partner, highly recommended.

FANTASY/MISTERY/SCI-FI

  • BLADE RUNNER 2049 (2017)
    Directed by: Denis Villeneuve
    Starring: Harrison Ford, Ryan Gosling, Ana de Armas

A young blade runner's discovery of a long-buried secret leads him to track down former blade runner Rick Deckard, who's been missing for thirty years.

image.png
src

A type of a movie I think not all will understand, but the one which conveys a hard and a deep message. This is a kind of a movie in which you have to read between lines. The aim of a movie was to warn population about possible consequences of a modern world. Not a type of a movie you'll watch to entertainment yourself.

ACTION/CRIME/SPORT

  • POINT BREAK (2015)
    Directed by: Ericson Core
    Starring: Edgar Ramírez, Luke Bracey, Ray Winstone
    3 Nomination: Teen Choice Awards 2016, 2x World Stunt Awards 2016

A young FBI agent infiltrates an extraordinary team of extreme sports athletes he suspects of masterminding a string of unprecedented, sophisticated corporate heists.

image.png

One of the coolest movies I've watched. Surroundings is very nice and roles belongs to those actors really compatible. The main role is brought to the temptation because he has internal fights between good and bad. It's full of extreme sports and anyone who like adrenaline dream of those. Adrenaline shot and interesting movie. You'll keep your eyes on it.

ACTION/ADVENTURE/COMEDY

  • NOW YOU SEE ME 2 (AND FIRST PART)
    Directed by: Jon M. Chu
    Starring: Jesse Eisenberg, Mark Ruffalo, Woody Harrelson
    4 Nominations: Golden Trailer Awards 2016, 3x Teen Choice Awards 2016

The Four Horsemen resurface, and are forcibly recruited by a tech genius to pull off their most impossible heist yet.

image.png
src

Very entertaining and interesting movie. It left a really nice and good impression on me because it's about group of illusionists (magicians) that do such a big crime work so smooth. A lot of tricks are in the movie and that's what I find really catchy. Really, really awesome movie.

ADVENTURE/ACTION

  • A BAD MOMS CHRISTMAS (2017)
    Directed by: Jon Lucas, Scott Moore
    Starring: Mila Kunis, Kristen Bell, Kathryn Hahn

As their own mothers drop in unexpectedly, our three under-appreciated and over-burdened moms rebel against the challenges and expectations of the Super Bowl for mothers: Christmas.

image.png
src

This is actually typical modern, american comedy movie and I usually don't prefer movies like this but this one made me laugh to so I find a place for the movie here. I don't have too much good words but it's funny and jokes and the story behind jokes are hilarious. If you have extra free time and looking for oafish comedy this is bingo.

Movies I've listed is here for a reason and I hope you'll find few movies you like and that I've spare some of your time to find a movie you were looking for.

Movies that will be listed below are, in my opinion, the best of the best. High quality with deep story and emotions.

BIOGRAPHY/DRAMA/HISTORY

HACKSAW RIDGE (2016)
Directed by: Mel Gibson
Starring: Andrew Garfield, Sam Worthington, Luke Bracey
Won 2 Oscars. Another 45 wins & 109 nominations.

WWII American Army Medic Desmond T. Doss, who served during the Battle of Okinawa, refuses to kill people, and becomes the first man in American history to receive the Medal of Honor without firing a shot.

image.png
src

This is the best movie ever according to my taste. Based on a true story and it's about a young guy who rejected to go in war due to religious obstacles. It's ardent and huge contrast between love-war, God-evil. This movie touches the deepest feeling of yours and it almost made me cry (I won't admit it did). The most important thing is that emotionally I'm close-related and connected to this movie. It's type that you get chills of several times. It's not easy to watch, meaning that the movie contains disturbing cadres and it's about war so it implies. 10/10 and I hope you'll find art in this one.

DRAMA/THRILLER

  • SHUTTER ISLAND (2010)
    Directed by: Martin Scorsese
    Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Emily Mortimer, Mark Ruffalo
    9 wins & 62 nominations.

In 1954, a U.S. Marshal investigates the disappearance of a murderer, who escaped from a hospital for the criminally insane.

image.png
src

If I can say, this is a personification of a truly thriller movie. It holds your tension through a whole movie, changing your mind and compassion with characters. Reverse is highlighted and in the middle of the movie you can't even discern who's good and who's not. The very end reveals the exposed truth and it has its place in my MUST TO SEE list of movies. 10/10 as well.

BIOGRAPHY/DRAMA

  • LION (2016)
    Directed by: Garth Davis
    Starring: Dev Patel, Nicole Kidman, Rooney Mara
    Nominated for 6 Oscars. Another 49 wins & 80 nominations.

A five-year-old Indian boy gets lost on the streets of Calcutta, thousands of kilometers from home. He survives many challenges before being adopted by a couple in Australia. 25 years later, he sets out to find his lost family.

image.png
src

The main role is played by Dev Patel who became one of my favorite actors after Slumdog Millionaire of course. This movie left the impression so hard on me I couldn't come to myself 15 minutes after the movie. It's based on the true story as well. Emotionally difficult movie to watch. Has a lot of struggles of average Indian man in real life. I like how the movie is made to be real and to show harsh reality. Eternal fight for the better life and chasing love as an orphan. 11/10 and shoulder to shoulder with Hacksaw Ridge.

The whole review is completely substantiated with my opinion and my taste. I haven't rank movies by it's professional ranks or budget. I've listed those who've touched my emotion, took my focus and those I liked. I'm amateur and have not much in common with professional filming and producing.

I hope you'll like it and leave your favorites in comment. Constructive conversation and criticism is always welcomed.

Have a nice day/night - @tonac :D

Sort:  

LOL I'm behind! I just saw 3 of them, but first one is craazy.

My favorite comedian is Will Ferrell so I recommend any movie with him... I hope you saw Semi Pro movie? that is one of my favorite ever!

I've watched the trailer now and I can say I haven't seen that movie yet damn. Maybe I'll take some time and give it a try. So next time when you're about to watch a movie jump over here :D

Yeah! Of course, this is my IMDB now :D :D

If you like Will Ferrell and comedy, Semi-Pro is a must-see movie ;)

You need to watch Hot Fuzz.. The most layered, fun, smart movie amazingly directed.
Good picks overall. 😁

I've just watched the trailer. This parody reminds me of Monty Python, I really don't know why hahah. I think I'll watch that next, thanks for idea :D

Point Break iz '91. mi je ipak nekako bolji. 😊
Ovaj Hot Tub nisam gledala, a zvuči baš zanimljivo. Baš sam tražila neku zanimljivu komediju.
Inače, na moje iznenađenje, svideo mi se film Get Hard, jer nisam neki fan Kevina Harta.
Dobre preporuke! 😉

Bas jucer dok sam trazio informacije po netu za film sam vidio taj point break iz '91 a iskreno nisam ni znao da postoji. Ma bilo je dosta polemika oko Get Hard-a jer su se ljudi žalili na rasizam, ako sam dobro shvatio, ali ja taj film nisam uopće shvatio na taj način, skroz suprotno, da naprave kontrast. Film mi je fakat presmiješan. Ma hot tube je ikonska komedija moraš pogledati. Baš je drugačiji od ostalih 😁

Što se tiče Get Hard filma, mislim da je sve dozvoljeno u komediji. Sad naravno, različiti su ukusi. Ja obožavam film Dude Where's My Car, koji je super glup, ali zato je i smešan. Isto je malo stariji, a za razbibrigu vrh!

Eee ma točno to. Nije stvar da se netko uvrijedi nit vjerujem da im je to cilj nego igraju na stranu, ajmo reći rizičnog humora. Ja osobno volim "malo jači" humor pa mi je to super, ali dobro si rekla različiti su ukusi. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tonac from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I have seen all except the first 4. I would consider Game Night. The others I would say not my cup of tea. If there are no other choices, then I would give those a try.

Well that's fair. Give it a try I liked it a lot :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50