RIP Jerry

in #movie7 years ago (edited)

Actor, comedian and philanthropist Jerry Lewis died this Sunday at the age of 91

Read the New York Times epitaph to know more about him:
https://www.nytimes.com/2017/08/20/movies/jerry-lewis-dead-celebrated-comedian-and-filmmaker.html

I liked him most when he was part of Martin and Lewis (Link to wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martin_and_Lewis). For me it represents the "good old times" when smoking and drinking on stage was common and Lewis was kind of the opposite of cool Dean Martin. They did together 10 films and countless shows live on stage.

After they split he started his solo career with more films, music, theatre, nightclubs and what not. One of the last real entertainers.

I would love to see him as part of the Rat Pack but that did not happened.
Guess they can join forces no up there in the Big Blue somewhere!

Sort:  

Man I loved this crazy guy and loved to mimic his antics when I was just a kid. He gave a lot of himself.

I remember the Jerry Lewis Telethons every year it seemed for Muscular Dystrophy and Jerry's Kids.

Man he chained smoked for like 2 days straight...and my mother right along with him. But that was a thing back then. No real thought to addiction in the mainstream yet.

I think he was a huge hit in France as well. I hadn't heard anything about him in years...decades even.

He had a good life...sure there were ups and downs but that's all part of being human. He was one of the good ones.

You'll be remembered for millennia to come Jerry...R.I.P.

UVed/RSed

True - the smoking, the drinking....

Yeah...a lot of that going on back in the day eh?
The old normal...I'm not judging the man on any failures.

I choose to remember him for his accomplishments...
which imo...far outweigh any shortcomings.

A gentle suggestion. I think you would do good to spend a little time in some research into his life and add your thoughts as an edit to your blog.

Of course you don't have to do anything you don't want to. };-)>

Best of luck to you @surfdog.

BTW...I've heard of Turtle Island...where is it? If you don't mind me asking. ~smiles~

logyx

If i look at old pictures from my parents - yes a lot was going on.
And I did not mean that as a shortcoming! Just in general.
I have to say the only thing I could do is copy from other sources since I only know a few of his movies. And English is not my mother tongue so I have a hard time to express things the way I mean it. If it gets a bit more complex :-(

Congratulations @surfdog! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67467.65
ETH 3470.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71