Godfather of the Dead

in #movie7 years ago

best George A Romero movies

Hi My Sweet Pineapples! 🍍🍍🍍

When I heard that George A. Romero died on Sunday July 16th, 2017 I was flipping through Instagram and saw a meme of him as a zombie and that he shall live, which at first I thought cool fan art than it clicked! The Zombie Master has died at the age of 77 of lung cancer. That really hit me hard, yes it’s sad when anyone dies but more so when you can relate to the same circumstance. My step-father passed away from lung cancer a few years ago and it sucks when someone has to endure that faith. We can blame cigarettes (my step-father too was a smoker) and yes it is those dame things! However, my mind was amazed that George A. Romero was still up and about just last May when I had the honor to meet him at Comiccon (2017).

1

I was glad to read that he passed with his wife, Suzanne Desrocher Romero, and daughter, Tina Romero, at his side. ❤

My first impressions:

Okay well he is the age of any grandfather but I couldn’t help but crush on his black thick glasses that he wore and were so iconic. His creative vision for the genre of Zombies influenced me and like most of you out there stirred up your own creativity.
He was kind and signed autographs and posed for pictures with his fans, it was an amazing turn out everyone wanted to meet and chat with him. I remember shaking his hand and telling him “I know you heard this a million times but your creative vision in movies was truly inspirational and you gave me such joy and wonder in watching your films.” He said “Thank you I really appreciate that.” Again I am sure he heard it all before, but hay I’m have no shame in being one of the millions fans of his un-dead army!

I’ve always had a fascination for zombies. Growing up my mom did not understand why I was so drawn to horror flicks and scary stories. Guess I was born EVIL Muhahahahaha, *giggles. I love all creatures of the night but non stand a candle to the zombies.

I’ve always been drawn to vintage films so I watched White Zombie (1932 ‧ Indie film/Horror) a classic zombie film. The old folklore stories of zombies from Haiti interest me the most because I feel it’s the most authentic. Could it be real? There are many real-life reports that it is, but for me that falls under the category of the paranormal. As a zombie fan I enjoy getting lost in the fantasy of the dead rising from the grave for some unknown reason.

Night of the Living Dead is my all-time favorite Zombie flick because it has all the elements I enjoy in a Zombie flick:

  • Vintage (black and White)
  • You can feel the era of the late 1950’s. The film highlighted capitalism, the nuclear family, consumerism, the military and racism.
  • The opening scene is cinematography genius and sucks you right in.
  • You get goose bumps when you hear Johnny Blair tease his sister “there coming to get you Barbra” still freaky to this day.
  • Classic undead Zombies from the grave, not those rabid zombies that race at you.
  • Duane Jones who played Ben was amazing, great to see at that time an unknown stage actor get a lead role; he was phenomenal!
  • You just want to slap Barbra into reality, hehe
  • Actor and producer Karl Hardman's 11-year-old daughter played Karen, she was the thing made of nightmares.
  • Interestingly enough George A. Romero sough out to make these undead creatures “Ghouls” and the term Zombie was not used originally.
  • Only a shot to the head will kill them and they consume human flesh and the illness is a contagion like a virus.

Thanks to Romero, we all got to experience your ZOMBIE WORLDS!

Thank you for....

Night of the Living Dead (1968)

The Crazies (screenplay) (1973)

Dawn of the Dead (1978)

Day of the Dead (1985)

Tales from the Darkside (1983 - 1985)

Creepshow 2 (1987)

Tales from the Darkside: The Movie (1990)

Land of the Dead (2005)

Diary of the Dead (2007)

There are more but those are my favorites! Least we forgot that the Godfather of the Dead also contributed to several video games, including Call of Duty: Black Ops. Which makes Romero double awesome! Romero once said that the zombies "don't particularly represent anything except a new society threatening to take over, and in this case devouring, literally, the old." Something we can all relate too in our everyday world. Zombies may not exists but the violence we create as the living is as bad as the undead. With that said, I give my respects to George A. Romero and the life he had, thanks for sharing your creative genius with us and the world. You are one honourable American-Canadian filmmaker!

Thank you for joining me today, please comment (if you love Zombies), vote up and or follow!

~Super Plain Jane 。◕‿◕。

Sort:  

Good writing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42