Trailer Review - Geostorm

in #movie7 years ago

Woah!! Disaster movie trailers never disappoint! The one issue I usually have with em is they leave little to be desired for the movie goer. Typically the 2 min trailer is just as dope, if not more, as the 2 hour movie. This one in particular gave me some climactic scenes, one being a potential ending, but it still peaked my curiosity a bit. The idea of having technology to control the weather somewhere down the road doesn't seem out of the realm of possibility. Rest assured if that were the case we WOULD get fucked, accidentally or intentionally. The concept of it is cool as shit.

Early on, when the satellite shoots the bullets into the hurricane to make it dissipate was nice. Which kind of had me wondering if this was an inconsistency? If you control the weather that tough why is there a hurricane in the first fucking place? The hurricane didn't seem to be a product of negligence like the rest of the scenes did. Either way the scene did the trick, it left me knowing this was top tier weather control shit that is not to be fucked with. After tornados & lightning storms are added to the fold, it switches to a control room of some sort. King Leonidas himself Gerard Butler is shown, to which I assume is the lead role & ultimate savior. The hail that destroyed the bus was a cool addition. I don't remember hail in a film ever being that size. Then the satellite is shown being blown up with an astronaut on it. I presume this will be the ending & that will be Gerard Butlers' character. I didn't need to see it, my interest was peaked and I was buying in already. The wave was well done but I'm kind of numb to tsunamis. San Andreas, Day After Tomorrow, 2012, & several others have pulled that move. It's always sick but doesn't have the impact it once did. When the plane falls out of the sky behind all those dead birds though.. it was a wrinkle I wasn't ready for at all. I mean it had the look like it froze mid flight, shit was dope. The song that is playing throughout is a dark rendition of "What a Wonderful World" originally by Louis Armstrong. Even though I kind of liked this cover, I didn't need the tone of the song to be so grim to understand the irony between the song & what I was being shown.

I took a quick look at the cast. Gerard Butler has a certain lane, I think he'll do fine in this movie. Can't be worse than The Rock in San Andreas. Katheryn Winnick seems to be the female lead. She is most known for her role as Lagitha in Vikings. I fell in love with her on that show & think she is fantastic. Tv doesn't always translate to movies but she is strong imo. Ed Harris, Andy Garcia, Abbie Cornish, Jim Sturgess & a handful of others have significant roles. Collectively I think they make up a decent cast for this film.

The special effects will be a top reason to go see this one. I've always fucked with disaster movies, what they lack in substance they make up for in production value. I feel like I have a grasp on the outcome of it. The only question for me is what caused the weather control to go haywire. I've been wrong plenty of times before so I could be missing the mark. Ultimately, I think the score for the trailer will be better than the score for the movie.

Gotta give this trailer a 3.6 out of 5

-Stringcity

Sort:  

Congratulations @stringcity601! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @stringcity601! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Wanna hear something wild.....the USA does have a weather modification machine it's called HAARP ...some say it was used to create hurricane Katrina and the massive earthquake in Haiti

Yeah I'm familiar with HAARP. Not sure about it creating Katrina, you would believe that lol. I believe they have technology to combat weather & the sun. But control it? I don't know.

Congratulations @stringcity601! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42