Favorite Movie Scenes, #1 out of no paticular order - Lady YaesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #movie8 years ago

Back in college I took a course in the film school, "Cowboys and Samauri". While I expected comparisons along the lines of classical Western and Samurai genres, I was disappointed in that most of the movies shown were identity politics garbage.

HOWEVER, there was one movie that I didn't sleep through.

Heaven and Earth -Ten to Chi to (1990) (NOT the execrable Stone pic of a coupla years later)

I remembered this scene for almost a quarter of a century...

  • First of all, the music was perfect. Sad without being maudlin.
  • There was a personal reason the guy shot the woman,
  • Maybe later, I'll challenge you in bed - LOL
  • This is a great push-pull coming over the boss samurai's head when the lady warriors rode up, even if the camera was a little bit shaky
  • I just ran across the movie again last week, this scene was almost as exactly as I remembered

About the movie:
It was filmed in Canada
It used the largest number of mounted extras ever.
Lady Yae was fictional, but the movie was about a real war between two daimyo; if you are familiar with Clavell's "Shogun", this would have been right before Goroda. In actual history, Oda Nobunaga was the man who unified most of the mainland, and who Goroda was based on.

It is an eye-feast. It isn't really a hack and slash war movie as much as it is movement and color. Mass charges and retreats of horsemen in black and red with thousands of cavalry extras.

You can find the whole movie on Youtube as Ten to Chi to, and it is worth watching
I could never find it on Amazon
The IMDB entry is here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65