[Movie Review] Ghost in the Shell

in #movie7 years ago

ghost in the shell.jpg

I was at the cinema to see Ghost in the Shell. Although I'm a fan of Japanese anime and manga, I have not seen the source material for this movie. So I did not have a term to compare at the moment of watching.

The film presents Scarlett Johansson as Major, a unique creation in the screen world.

Major is a technological miracle, a combination between android and human. Major Mira Killian is rescued by Hanka Robotics after her ship was attacked was attacked by terrorists. Her body could not be saved, but the brain was. And the brain was added to technological body, becoming the first person in the world with a 100% robotic body. The first android with a soul. A true ghost in a shell. After Mira is on her feet, she becomes a Sector 9 member, a government security division.

Throughout the movie, Major and her classmates in Sector 9 will try to catch a killer who kills Hanka Robotics researchers and executives, discovering a much larger conspiracy during the investigation. I could give more details, but I will cross the spoiler line and I don't want to ruin the movie.

The film treats various philosophical as well as psychological aspects. We have a technologized society where almost every human has made improvements. The danger of being hacked is at every corner, a danger that the film focuses right from the first few minutes.

Another very interesting theme of the film is the quest for identity. And looking for an answer of the question "What makes us people?". Is Mira a human or machine? What defines us as humans? Is our body just a shell, a vessel where the soul lives? Or are we more than that?

Overall, it seemed like a good movie. I think the actors have brought the character alive quite well on the screen. Although I have read many reviews on other sites about bringing Scarlett Johansson to the role of Major, a Japanese character, I tend to think it was a successful casting. Let's not forget that Major has an artificial body, so it doesn't really matter what the race is.

The action scenes have been well thought out, quite fluid and well-choreographed. I was not bored by watching them at all.

I really enjoyed a movie quote, said Dr. Ouelet, the doctor who takes care of the Major: "We cling to memories as if they define us, but they don't. What we do is what defines us "


In the last couple of weeks, I've started a new blog for movie reviews. The blog is in Romanian, but I'll translate some the reviews for steemit as well.

Sort:  

Good starting ! Keep blogging on movie !! Thanks for the information !!!

Thank you. I will keep writing.

Nice review! I heard mixed thoughts on this movie but after reading your review I want to see the movie now.

Thank you. I really recommend the movie.
I'm glad you enjoyed my review.

thanks for filmen

I saw it too at the cinema. I actually fell asleep but it was okay. Kinda disappointing. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65