Movie Review -- UNFRIENDED, a 21st Century Horror Film..by Levan Gabriadze

in #movie8 years ago


Unfriended unfolds over a group of teenager's computer screen as they stalk an unrecognizable avatar profile on their skype home page, who unexpectedly seeks vengeance after uploading a shameful video that later led to death of their ex-classmate a year earlier. The movie focuses more on the demographic niche of online netizens which, if you're not familiar with some social media sites, then you would find it hard to understand the whole concept of the story.

Whether it's the warming glow of a macbook, of the familiar sound of a gmail notification; one thing's for sure, the movie has captured what seemed to be another way of pushing the boundaries of horror movies.

Seeing typical horror movies which storylines can be so predictable, Unfriended gives you none of those pesky boring lines that go on-and-on.

Because Director Levan Gabriadze's main focal point is social media and its connectivity, you'd probably see most of the time social media sites and skype conversations and wonder why this so. It's because social media is such a vast thing to tackle and there's no better way to scare someone when you're at the mercy of the internet.

Besides that, what makes this movie more interesting is the realistic interaction online. Scares hit the hardest when you see yourself as the victim. That is the movie is all about.

Realtime experiences scares the hell out of you as you watch through every scene. From putting your hand into the blender to hagging yourself in-front of the camera that pretty much what it's made of.

The only thing that holds back unfriended is the limited scares you see, as there are many fuzzy internet interruptions plus the microphone picks up unwanted sounds at the most inopportune moment.

Unfriended is a 21st century nightmare- someone can post hurtful pictures on your Facebook without your permission, flick on random songs that obviously foreshadow something sinister, and remove access to simple functions like closing out a browser window or remove your capability to forward messages.

What's worse is you're at the mercy of the internet, something so vast it could never be contained, unless in a paranormal haunting by a vengeful ex-classmate. Gabriadze begs you to pick which situation you find scarier, and I promise, there's no best answer in that scenario. Ever wonder who's at the other end of a computer screen, conversing with you in some chatroom? That's not a question you want to be answered after Unfriended.

Image source--1-2-3-4

PS: This is my first movie review and it is perfectly suited for my horror stories that I am writing. I want to contribute more on SteemIt and to start, I am doing my very best diversifying my content that is why starting today I will be writing any stuff. Any stuff that is I think acceptable on steemit, whether or not the idea is already present on the platform. So far, I've been doing horror stories and I did poems and thoughtful writings. And now movie review. Follow me @pinoytravel.

Support and Reblog. Thanks!

Sort:  

Pretty much a re-hash of this - http://wegotthiscovered.com/movies/unfriended-review-sxsw-2015/

Plagiarism is not tolerated on Steemit.

I'm sorry if I forgot to put my references on my post. And if it's totally plagiarize at your view, I will humbly accept the consequences. But please reconsider, since I just made this as a researched type review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68