How GOT almost ruined Jason Momoa's acting career

in #movie6 years ago

Game of Thrones" has launched the acting careers of actors like Emilia Clarke and Kit Harington, but almost ruined that of Jason Momoa.
The actor, who played Khal Drogo on the show for a season, told The Tonight Show host, Jimmy Fallon, that after his character was killed off in 2012, it was difficult for him to get an audition.

This was because a lot of people thought he couldn't speak English Language - Khal Drogo spoke Dothraki on the show.

“Not a lot of people thought I spoke English. It was very challenging. What do you do with Drogo? Like you’re not going to put him in a comedy. He is pigeonholed, you know?” the actor explained.

“I was bummed out. And then I met Fred Armisen [comedian], and he goes ‘I didn’t even know you spoke English’ — it was heartbreaking. That’s why I wasn’t getting any jobs!”

After a period of unemployment, Momoa got a call that changed his life: It was from "Justice League" director, Zack Snyder.

Synder, who was a huge fan of "Game of Thrones," called Momoa to ask if he would audition for a role in the above-mentioned Superhero movie.

“It was funny because I had no idea what I was even playing. He just called me in. I had an audition for Batman. Obviously, Ben Affleck was cast.

I was like, ‘I’m just basically gonna be the bad guy. I’m gonna fight Batman and Superman. I’m gonna play the villain.’ And he’s like, ‘Wait, no. Aquaman!’”

Jason Momoa as Aquaman
After making his debut as the character in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" in 2016, he reprised the role in the 2017 "Justice League" movie.

His first stand-along movie "Aquaman" was releasedon December 21, 2018IMG_20180125_013038_861.jpg

The eighth and finals season of "Game of Thrones" will premiere in 2019.

Sort:  

It's really dumb for people to believe he doesn't speak English, especially with the fact that the language he's speaking in the show is completely fictional. There are countless actors out there who have portrayed characters that speak a foreign or fictional language but also speak English fluently, that's the true talent of acting. Awesome post, just shot you a follow, feel free to follow me back if you like nerdy topics such as this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 59269.62
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41