Filmmaker's Diaries ( Mid July 2017, Film Company)

in #movie7 years ago (edited)

"The saddest journey in the world is the one that follows a precise itinerary. Then you’re not a traveler. You’re a f@@@king tourist."
― Guillermo del Toro

Hello my fellow Steemians, hope you're having a nice day.

Here we are, it's the 15 of July 2017 (Today Game of Thrones will premiere season 7 by the way hehehe) and I decided it was a good place to do another Filmmaker's diary entry.

Last time I was celebrating the end of both music videos. And celebration was justified.

( Here is the last post for more reference:
https://steemit.com/filmmaker/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diary-videos-completed-and-film-lessons )

Music Video Company

As a result of having finished the videos, I would now focus on launching the Music Video Company.

I had some time to think and decide how to go about it. I decided that I would lunch the company on the first week of September. I would need a few things like the website, figure out all the financial/bureaucratic issues (bahhh) and many other things but mainly, I need another music video.

I spoke with a friend who is releasing a album and told him I could make a music video for a song. And it would be great since I would have total control, even over what song to choose. I would chose the song, make exactly the video I would like and send it to him. Great!

So yesterday I went to his place.... but where a few issues. The big one is that the album is not completed. Some songs even need to have some parts re-recorded... So basically it's going to take a long time... He is going to talk with the Mixer.... but one thing is sure... it will take a long time.

That means I won't have it made by September to lunch with the company.

Options:

  • Option one: I can choose a song that only needs to be mixed and just mixed that one for him. ( I can actually mix music, have studied it and have a lot of experience)

  • Option two: I can talk to another friend who always has songs to release.

Pros: He is quite famous so the video would get some visibility. I'm sure he has a few songs to be released soon.

Cons: He does live a bit further away, I'm very low on budget to invest in this one. And I takes music very seriously so he takes other factors into account. Even if I would have total freedom, he would not be open to just anything.

  • Option Three: I can make a song of my own and make the video for it. Again I do make music (have 9 solo albums released). Unfortunately I haven't took much time to do music recently... but I really want to... this could also be an excuse to just take time to make music no matter what.

Good thing: I would have total control, would make some music (that I want to do).

Bad thing: It would take a time/ money investment that would take me away from my main path, filmmaking. It would also take a little longer. I'm sure it would be faster than waiting for the other one.

  • Option four: I've been thinking of making a short film about a musician. It would be a no budget, guerrilla and quickly done film. Maybe I can use it to promote the company.

  • Option five: Or I can just lunch the company with the two videos I have. That's going to require some time and dedication and then I can just focus on other aspects of filmmaking, life and other business.

So this is where I'm at. Need to chose an action plan not in too long.

What do you think?

Any opinion, suggestion would be welcomed.

"A story should have a beginning, a middle, and an end… but not necessarily in that order."
– Jean-Luc Godard

Cinema.jpg

Thanks for reading.

Photos (except Logo) from Pixabay.com

Sort:  

lol playmobil is very cool

best of luck with your company!

good post my friend, good luck

Thanks @artistic ! I'll probably need it.

Option six: Eat an icecream and watch Game of Thrones!

Well... Im for sure watching game of thrones hehhee.

Hey wish you loads of luck and success !!

Thanks @blazing ! Appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60