My First Movie Review: Gold

in #movie7 years ago (edited)

Tonight I thought I would post something different on steemit. I think that is on of the reasons I love this platform. It supports my free will to be adventurous.

Back on track...
I saw Gold today without expecting anything much. I took the bus with a couple of friends and arrived not a minute too soon to see the beginning of the movie. I was thoroughly entertained by the storyline and found myself drawn to pay close attention. I will admit that if a person doesn't pay close attention the plot seem's lost and somewhat confusing. It takes you on an almost overbearing trip of ups and downs through the life of a gold prospector who strikes it rich in Indonesia. This loopy protagonist is played by Mattew McConaughey and I have to admit he does a pretty good job. Just looking at McConaughey and how he looked the part with his beer belly, snaggle tooth, and thinning hair line is astounding. His character, however, is confusing at times, to say the least. He makes good decisions sometimes and bad ones at other times. Sometimes he is a drunk and an idiot while others a passionate man who wants to live up to his father. This character needs to be written more consistantly, it would make the movie so much easier to follow and if his bad decisions somehow transitioned too good decisions down the road I think it could be a more enjoyable storyline.

This movie does use certain symbols that have a deeper meaning which I value and which give me a deeper understanding of the movie. I won't reveal the symbols to you to respect that not everyone has seen this movie. If you need to write an essay about a story I would pick this one.

Another pet peeve of mine in movies, in general, are the endings. I think the ending was fairly good but seemed implausible since he would be tracked and the fact the ending happened so quickly was strange. In my opinion, after the ending, it should have shown him and his girlfriend living happily ever after. Th ending mainly came across as lazy.

All in all, this movie was a wild and sometimes strange ride with unexpected twists and turn. It has strong contrasts in characters and a weak ending. The filming and picture were good but certain plot points left things to be desired.

Final verdict 2.5 out of 5 stars #.

Sort:  

Follow and Upvote us, we'll Follow and Upvote u too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56087.39
ETH 2965.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15