The boycotters are back with Mulan!

in #movie4 years ago

image.png

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/sep/04/pro-democracy-boycott-of-disneys-mulan-builds-online-via-milkteaalliance

I hate what China is doing to Hong Kong as much as anybody who isn't actually in Hong Kong. I still don't understand boycotts like this.

I made the decision to not watch Mulan before it was even announced because all of Disney's live action remakes are simple ejaculations.

I mean, I'll watch any Roman Polanski movie while believing that he should be in prison. I don't feel any cognitive dissonance there. He did something disgusting to a young girl and I can appreciate his art.

In this case, it's simply a matter of somebody saying something aggressively stupid. If I could respect Disney, I would see the movie despite the brain-dead remarks of the movie's star.

Liu Yifei, who stars as Chinese heroine, has voiced support for Hong Kong police during suppression of protests

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46