1001 movies before I die: The Battleship Potemkin & October (Review)

in #movie6 years ago

If you saw my post about thee book "1001 movies you must see before you die". You'll know that I am atempting to watch all 1001 movies. This is my review of The Battleship Potemkin (movie #27) & October (movie #35) The Battleship Potemkin
Two movies both directed by Sergei M. Eisenstein focusing on the Russian revolution and they do a good job doing so. I know that these movies have alot of propaganda in them so as far as the accuracy of the movies goes is questionable but the way they showcase it is beautiful.

This movie also showed some inovative techniques for it's time and the Odessa steps sequence is definitely something to look out for.October
I would consider this an epic, atleast for it's time. Look at movies, like Ran or Lord of the Rings they each tell massive stories. Although October is quite short comparatively it still packs a big story into it.

That's what I liked about it, that it was made on a big scale or alteast felt like it was.

I'm definitively won't go to these movies for their history but excluding that I wouldn't pass on them in the future. U5du5wgH6nFhNRqJLy2Q6Uj5hnoMNrv_1680x8400.jpeg

Sort:  

The «Battleship Potemkin» reflects the whole era of 1905 revolution in a single story. It was supposed to be propaganda, but Eisenstein managed to make something more from this plot. Except political message this film has a humanistic anti-war idea which is actual in all times.
I would be glad if you appreciate my article about this film: https://steemit.com/film/@axbezzub/the-greatest-film-of-all-times-battleship-potemkin
Here I explain its artistic features and humanistic messages.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64835.34
ETH 3516.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36