Series of Very Unknown Movies That You Might Enjoy #3: Persona (1966)

in #movie7 years ago

Hello everybody!


image source


Dear steemians and @sndbox members, welcome to my film series. I am talking about films, in this series. I will criticism about films I watced. Actually, it is not exactly criticism. It is more like comment. Because I am not critic. I just talking about films. I say features or scenes what I liked. If I watched another films by the same director, I tell about them.

In fact, I more like old films. Films shooted before 1960. Especially, black and white films. I watched all of films shooted by Alfred Hitcock, Stanley Kubrick, Frank Capra, Gaspar Noe... There is a few director more but ıt doesn't my mind now. Sometimes, I watch new films from lists. So let's talk some about today's film. Today's film is Persona.


image source


I watched the movie today. It was very very very strange movie. Actually, I don't understand much. Movie theme is simple but  there are many scenes that express deep meaning to the fact. The director and writer is Ingmar Bergman. He gave very deep messages. I think, this is first Ingmar Bergman's movie what I watched. Movie style is a looks like a bit David Lynch's movies.

Let's talk about movie theme. Elisabeth Vogler is an important theatrical actor who suddenly becomes silent during a game and never speaks again. To solve this problem psychology is invested in the center, but when there is no progress, the nurse goes to a cottage with Alma, a doctor with advice. As Elisabeth continues to remain silent, she begins to tell everything in Alma. In short, movie theme is like that.


image source


While these two women stay at the resort, there are some incidents happening between them. I'm not gonna tell you the details. You should watch. The topics mentioned in the film are: time-death, collective pressure, the meaning of life, the unbearable weight of being bla bla bla... By the way, the movie was shot in 1966. It is black and white. I don't know what you liked or unlike bnw movies but if you wanna see different scenario, you can watch this movie.  There was a movie named 8½. It is Federico Fellini's movie. That movie script was also very different. Or To Do Sobre Mi Madre (Pedro Almodovar). Or Spellbound (Hitcock). These films have come to me so differently.

There are a lot of scene very impressive in movie. Every detail is thought. Also, there was many excellent lines. For example, "Our concerns, our desperate dreams, the inexplicable persecution, the fear of extinction, our awareness of our earthly conditions, our salvation becomes more evident. The night cries of our beliefs and skepticism are the most terrifying evidence of our miserable and terrifying awareness." This chapter was really awesome. So, that's all I have to say. Finally, you should watch this movie as soon as possible. Right now :) Love to all of you dear steemians... See you in next post, take care yourself...




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58