Wonder Woman (2017) | Movie Spoiler Review

in #movie7 years ago (edited)

promo320088067.png

I'm starting off this movie review with the non-spoiler details then I'll put my overall score at the end of the Spoiler Section.

The main thing you should know is that this is the best DC Extended Universe Film so far.

I wouldn't say that this is the best film out there, but it is enough to uplift the DCEU franchise.
Don't get me wrong, I liked the two previous DCEU films, Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice and Suicide Squad, very much. It's just that the plot holes and some of the delivery is off here and there but I would definitely re-watch them as many times as I can.

Having said so, Wonder Woman is the DCEU film that I would probably re-watch the most.
Other than it's a really good as a standalone film that does not serve as a teaser for future DCEU films, it is the kind of film that gives you the entire personality and conviction of a character.
It is one of those films that a parent would like their kid to watch and come out of the cinema with a great lesson.
It's light, it's nostalgic, and it's very engaging to the audience that it wouldn't really require you to overthink.

The stunt choreography is fun and convincing which fits well to the sound editing and the musical score.
The music enters to your ears well enough to make you feel the mood of the scene and it added depth to all of the actors' performance.
Although the Slow Motion scenes were to many for my taste, I think that all of the action scenes were really cool and amazing.

The on location sets were breath taking and inviting in a sense that you would put visiting them in your bucket list.
The film's cinematography is similar to Man Of Steel (2013) but better because the colors are more relaxing to look at.
There are scenes where you can tell that everything is CGI and that's pretty much the only really negative point for me.

WonderWoman_ComicCon_trailer.jpg

WARNING: SPOILERS BEWARE!!!

The twist ending wasn't really a surprise for me since they were foreshadowing the entire thing.
Diana, Wonder Woman herself, being the "true weapon" or the "God Killer" is really obvious but it really blends well with her adventures and character decisions.
Even the Lunderdoff-is-not-Ares and the killing-Ares-will-not-end-War reveal was also predictable, but it still played well in my opinion.

Chris Pine as Steve Trevor was really good. There were parts where he overshadowed Gal Gadot but it's alright since his character is a prideful man after all.
I do love the romantic-comedy touch between the two and that's coming from someone who generally dislikes the romantic genre.
His character's death wasn't a surprise also since that was kind of spoiled already in BVS. The only thing that really came in my mind during his death scene is how similar it is with Captain America's sacrifice in The First Avenger.
But don't worry, that's pretty much the only thing that you would consider a similarity with the MCU since the rest of the Wonder Woman film is unique in my point of view.

All those accusations that Wonder Woman and Captain America are just the same is really ridiculous because each of their reasoning and fighting style is very different.

Gal Gadot did well in my opinion. There are scenes where you can tell that she needs more experience in acting, but she manages to pull it off due to her character's development and realizations.
Her interaction with Steve Trevor, Etta Candy (I'm not sure if I've read or heard her name right), and with the villains really show how much of powerful and considerate person Wonder Woman is.

The main lesson of the film is how her character realized the harsh reality of war and that fulfilling her duty to end war would be difficult if the humans will never learn to stand together.

My overall score is 8.5/10.


Special thanks to Steemit's Reward System, again I was able to attend a special screening with your help!
[Photos from DC Wikia]
More Future Movie [Spoiler] Reviews @gabbspitargue
Sort:  

8.5/10 for a DC movie, interesting. personally, I only see marvel films now. I was interested in DC only for the Batman trilogy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53