Movie review: Ruby Sparks (2012)

in #movie6 years ago (edited)


image source: https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/ruby_sparks
Ruby Sparks (2012)

There lived a sculptor named Pygmalion on the island of Cyprus. The island of Cyprus at the time was full of prostitution and all sorts of promiscuity. The sculptor who hated it began to keep women out of the picture and carve the woman who was right for his ideal. Soon he created a woman as brilliant as the ivory he carved. It seemed alive. Pygmalion touched and kissed her day and night. I wish she were human. His love deepened like a bottle. After a while Aphrodite accepted his sincere desire and made the statue a woman. Pygmalion lived happily with her for a long time.

Ruby Sparks is a Pygmalion myth in which he loves his creation, meets him in real life, and ‘ Stranger than Fiction ‘ in that the novelist's novel is connected to reality. . It is similar to the movie ’ Her ’ in that it is an ideal and unrealistic ideal type. It is also like a love story version of ’ Death Note. ‘

The movie told us, ' So was Pygmalion happy? '.

‘Ideal‘ ideal type and ’living‘ ideal type can be completely different.

We all have an ideal type. There may be a specific or a dispassionate difference, but it is hard to deny that there is a preferred style of love partner. But the criteria we set for our ideal type are one-way, self-centered. This is why ideal type can not be a reality.

We do not consider complex logical relationships when setting up an ideal type. There is no woman who would love to be handsome, travel, social, active sportsmen who would not abandon themselves for a weekend to travel, have a meeting, or go out for a workout. So our ideal type usually has incompatible conditions. Of course I do. A cheerful, smiling woman has been my ideal type for a long time, but a sensitive artist who does not spare detailed advice on my writing, music, or painting was also my ideal type. An extroverted and introverted woman To sum up, it was.

So I felt like I was being scolded while watching a movie. My love, my selfishness, my greed, and so on spread out before my eyes and I was ashamed beyond measure.

We can realize by looking at the ruin of perverse selfishness and greed. Love is not changing others, it needs to change me. The movie just conveys that.

It's hard to say that love ' nevertheless ' embraces me and anyone else.

please upvote and follow me! It gives me a power to write an article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59575.00
ETH 2607.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43