My Top 5 Favorite Scifi Movies from the 90s

in #movie6 years ago

Science fiction movies are fantastic and one of the best things to come out of Hollywood and just life in general. I always eventually get around to new science fiction movies, but I have such a backlog from past generations that I am constantly catching up and watching whatever I can, whether that be movies, tv shows or even games. I want to share my top 5 favorite Scifi films from the 90s, in no particular order and give a brief synopsis of them. If you havent seen any of these movies I HIGHLY recommend all of them.

Gattaca

Gattaca is a movie that eluded me for the longest time but when I finally saw it around 5 years ago I was absolutely blown away. It might not be the most science fiction movie on this list with futuristic gadgets, but instead pictures a real world where DNA is the only measure that people have for excellence. Those who are genetically altered to be superior rule the world with the best jobs and those who arent are treated like a lower class. Definitely worth a watch and a fantastic movie.

Strange Days

Strange Days was always a movie I used to watch on HBO in the past whenever it was on. Not only did one of my favorite concept artists Syd Mead, work on the film, but the idea of the film is solid and incredibly interesting. Set at the dawn of the year 2000, the world is flipping out and our main character is a salesman of illegal software for a device that lets you relive memories, your own or someone elses. After a recording that shows a coverup by the police gets into his hands, the main character tries to uncover the mystery. The main character by the way is played by Ralph Fiennes in one of his best roles even now.

The Fifth Element

Im not the biggest Bruce Willis fan, but this film I saw when I was young and it just hit all the right buttons. At times it was pretty cheesy, but the Fifth element is still a fantastic scifi movie that makes you feel warm in all the right places. Its your stereotypical Bruce Willis saves the world film, but it definitely is worth a watch. Also Gary Oldman, the human chameleon plays a fantastic role as the main villain.

The Matrix

At the end of the decade one of the most thought provoking and cinematically impressive films was released, the Matrix. Im sure I dont have to tell most people about the Matrix but it is set primarily in a future where robots have destroyed the human race and now use their bodies for power, while keeping them working in a version of earth set in the past. The whole movie is filled with philosophical meaning and overall is a must watch, not just for scifi fans, but for any movie fan.

Dark City

Dark city is probably the least well known film on this list, but I think it is interesting and weird enough to be worthy of mentioning. It takes place in a city where the main character essentially wakes up and is trying to figure out who framed him for murder. He slowly starts to realize the city is not what it seems and that something is rotten. I dont want to ruin the movie, but it is definitely worth a watch.

Like I said these arent in any particular order, I think these are all great films from the 90s and worth a watch for any scifi fan.

-Calaber24p

Sort:  

I saw the Fifth Element when I was a kid and I really love this movie with a story and scenario totally different from the whole movie I had seen, I also saw the Matrix this very moment and today I now know that I did not understood anything about it. -

Solid, Fifth Element, Matrix and Dark City would all be there for me.

Good ones are also Flatliners, 12 Monkeys, Terminator 2, Armageddon, Independence Day.

Much agreed. Especially The Fifth Element, The Matrix, and Gattaca.
Thanks for the post.
I wonder if Jurassic Park could be on that list :-)
The Abyss and Minority Report came to mind too, but they just missed the 90s. Cheers!

Hello :) If you enjoy movies please check my new series of M.I.R. and please leave a comment with your favorite movie and I will introduce it in my next posts and M.I.R. will gave a review ^^ I am a movie lover too , let's make good reviews together ^_^

I support you 100% with Gattaca. I have seen it many times, in spite of not having so many scenes of fiction the drama and the plot is excellent. It has a utopian resemblance In Time with Justin Timberlakeand and Equilibrium.Christian Bale.

Did you know that in The Fifth Element is the only movie that the hero never crosses with the villain?

I invite you to see my post called Tribute to actor William Fichtner
Saludos desde Venezuela.

most movies I often watch

Great post, i love that kind of movies, i'll probably see it all, great synopsis of each!!

Very interesting your top five, in which there is one of my favorites "Strange Days".

The kind of science fiction, it is one of my favorite, takes us to the need to believe in the existence of some kind of mas there of us, I delight that every movie to his way tries to answer questioning many, but these answers there generates mas his questions which is wonderful, extraterrestrial life, virtual reality, alternative worlds, robots and trips in the time are topics that make explode our brain.

But to part of your top five, it is necessary to touch a curious topic that ocurrio at the end of the 90s, specifically in the second half, excellent years for the cinema of science fiction, where Will's Smith reputation I shoot, Bruce Willis entertained with classic his " The Fifth Element (1997) " and us skittle the brain with "Twelve Monkeys (1995)" and Sigourney Weaver was returning to the load with Ally, the resurrection (1997).

But certainly the milestone mas important and curious topic was "Matrix" (1999), with an original concept, special effects that they defined before and after the cinema of science fiction, his success was such that opaque others you praise productions of the epoch, of these works of the nineties darkened and that as the work of the brothers Wachowski, it shows us alternative realities, we can name in order of my preference:

1-Dark Side (1998) - Included in your top five
2-Gattaca (1997) - Included in your top five
3-The Thirteenth Floor (1998)
4-Contact (1997)
5- eXistenZ (1999)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60970.88
ETH 2634.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59