Collateral Beauty - the movie

in #movie7 years ago


"We're here to connect. Love, time, death.
Now these three things connect every single human being on earth. We long for love, we wish we had more time and we fear death." -
Quote from Collateral Beauty


My bf and I were planning two months ago to go see the movie 'Collateral Beauty' with lead actor Will Smith. Last Saturday was finally the day to go to the cinema and have some quality time together.

I haven't seen the trailer before, but my bf did. He told he it was about a man who was writing to things. I didn't understand what he was explaining to me. Also, I'm not a person who looks at trailers to decide whether I would like to see the movie or not. You want to see a movie? Well, let's go and watch it. Will decide later whether the movie was worth it or not.

I was pretty excited as it has been a long time ago that I went to see a movie with my bf. We only bought popcorn and drinks as we already ate lunch before we went to the cinema. There were only seats left at the first and second row. We decided to sit at the second row and it was ok. Though I prefer to sit higher as after a time when you look up at the screen, it hurts your neck. Ok, let's talk about the movie itself. Oh by the way, I'm not going to write much about what happens in the movie. I don't want to ruin it for people who haven't seen the movie yet and are planning to see it ;).


Shortly said:

 The theme of this movie is grief after losing someone you love. Will Smith's character, Howard, is a man who is coping with the loss of his child, who died at a young age. He is trying to deal with his pain by writing letters to things in the universe. Due to his pain, he doesn't want to speak to anyone or do his job great. He was living within himself and didn't care about anything around him anymore. The 'things' he wrote to were Love, Death and Time. Later, he meets Love, Death and Time in person. They answered the letters by meeting him, trying to help him coping with the loss of his child. Love, Death and Time were sent by his coworkers who are worried about his situation. Somehow, it helped him to open some doors and to seek for help. Howard tried to go to group sessions where they talk about their experiences of the loss of their child. One day, he decided to get inside and try to speak what was on his mind, but he couldn't. He didn't want to. After all the grief, there was the only person who could help him: Love. After his love confronted him with the loss of his daughter, he was released from his pain.

Collateral Beauty is a very beautiful movie. Usually, you know how some scenes will go and how the movie ends. But this movie was a total surprise to me. During the movie, you don't expect things to happen. The movie was well thought-out. I believe the story behind this movie is that the universe helps you to deal with your pain, as long as you communicate either with the universe of the people around you. Losing someone you love causes you so much pain. I've been through it, and sometimes it felt like I was hurt so much that I didn't want to do anything in life anymore except questioning why the one I loved had to die. By seeing this movie, I realize now that at that moment, I wasn't the only one who was hurt. There were many more others who were hurt but not by the loss of the same person I lost, but because they were losing me. My friends tried to help me and took me out, to do things. Go to the movies, having drinks in the city, going out. Luckily, it helped me to do this. That's why I think this movie is a message to all of us. We should know that we are here to connect with each other, to share the love inside of us, to spend the time we have here and do what we want to achieve in life while we can, because you never know when you will meet death.

I recommend you to see this movie. When you do, please don't forget to bring tissues with you. I have cried a lot in the cinema.. lol.. but I'm not ashamed of it. I felt very connected to this movie and I hope by writing this post, I can inspire you to find your way through grieving. Last thing what I want to say is: Take your time to grief when you have lost someone, but also try to accept it and give it a place in your heart. You are still here because your life means something to this planet. You have a purpose. Yes, it's painful to lose your loved ones, but think about this: Now, they are watching over you as angels and they can lead you to the path for achieving your life goals :-).

Feel free to comment and talk with me if you want to! Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Are you some kind of wiseguy buddy?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63162.76
ETH 3063.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85