Bright (film): What The Shannara Chronicles Should Have Been

in #movie6 years ago (edited)

So I was watching Bright yesterday and it's so kick ass awesome that I wonder why Netflix didn't have it shown in cinemas. I mean, hello? Yes it's made for TV but if they showed it in cinemas too more people would have loved and raved about it.

image.png
Image courtesy of Netflix

What is Bright?

It's a fantasy/cop movie set in a world where orcs, elves, humans and fairies live together in modern times. It's just amazing to watch. Oh and did you know their world has a magic item? Yes, they have a magic wand! Bzzzzt. So cool! And it's not like Harry Potter wands. Oh no. It's glowing like a light saber but not as smooth or straight as one. It looks fantastic.

If the two lead stars are a human and an orc cop, there's also a Federal agency of elves. How cool is that? Haha. Elves even have their own towns separate from orcs and humans. Would love it if they made a series out of it, maybe like True Detective and Fortitude. At least we'll get to see more of their fantastic modern fantasy world. Oooh I'd be excited to watch it if they make one.


What Bright is Like (In comparison to other TV shows)

Speaking of fantasy worlds, I suddenly remembered The Shannara Chronicles. You know, I love Terry Brooks' books on Shannara. I just haven't finished reading everything but it is a fantastic world of elves, druids, humans, magic items and other monsters too. It can be stale sometimes, having the same formulaic storyline or something but some of the books I read are really awesome.

My favorite is the first Shannara book I ever read: The Elf Queen of Shannara. Mmmhmmm. It's a coming of age book and boy did I cry over it. Whew. I read it when I was coming of age too. Hahaha. Whatever. Anyway so if The Shannara Chronicles TV Series had been made like Bright, the Netflix movie, it would've been much more awesome than it is. I'm surprised it even got a second season. Huh. I don't like how they made it into a sappy love triangle fantasy soap.

My tastes run more on the edgy gritty fantasy stuff like Constantine. That's one awesome show but it got canceled after 1 season. Ugh. I don't like the TV shows Arrow or Flash because they are too sappy soap opera-ish to me too. I don't think I'd like to watch Jessica Jones though. Based on reviews maybe it's too over the top for my taste. This is why Bright is just right.

No I am not a fan of Will Smith. I do kinda like his personality, some of his movies and songs but I am not much of a fan. He did a good job as one of the cops in this movie. The rest of the cast members are perfect too. Noomi Rapace (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo/Prometheus) as the bad ass evil elf is cool.

One thing I noticed though was when the bad elves were fighting off everyone else, humans/orcs were all being thrown around and dying so easily. When it came time to fight the two cops I was like, "How come they can't kill them off easily?" Hahaha.

The TV Movie Look and Feel

Costumes and the production design is just fantastic. All the orcs look like orcs. Not people in Halloween costumes. Even the evil elves give off a dark, vampiric vibe. Oh they still seem ephemeral and somewhat glowy and such, in a cold, dark way. :P Look at this and see for yourself. Look!

image.png

Doesn't it have a fantastic vibe? And the rest of the props, like the glowing burned props, oh my gosh. I just love almost everything of it's production design. Even the soundtrack is awesome. Haha.

Here, watch this extended trailer. It's a combination of several trailers/clips I presume. At least you'll get a sense of the movie.


Verdict

If I was to rate this TV movie, I'd give it a 5 out of 5 stars. It's one of the perfect movies for me. :) Some people might not like it but it's a great movie for art/fantasy/metaphysical buffs like me. :)

In case you're looking to watch a film with enough blood, action and magic interspersed in supposed real life then this is it. The story and character development is enough to hold your interest so watch Bright and enjoy!

It's not perfect but it makes me want to watch more of this world. David Ayer should produce/direct a TV series. Hello Netflix? Can you make more? Hahaha.

There's going to be a Bright 2, but I think it's better if they make a series spin off soon. Hopefully the second movie will be good.


How about you, have you seen this movie yet? Did you like it? Let me know if you have. :D

XOXO,
@artgirl

P.S. If you don't have Byteball yet read this so we both will get extra $$$. :)


For my art, writings and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg

WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.


All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist and also an online seller. For art and writing commissions, feel free to contact me.
You can chat me up on steem.chat or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg


468x60 btc.gif

468x60 bch.gif

image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

Thanks @artgirl for bringing my attention to this movie. I also enjoyed reading the Shannara books when I was younger and I loved them. Because of your enthusiasm about Bright, I'm gonna log off and go and watch it.

All the best.

Hehe. Cool. Enjoy. 😄😁

Posted using Partiko Android

5 out of 5? Omgeee you made me wanna check this out! 😍

Haha hope u enjoy it when u watch it. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Btw if wala ka pa Byteball sali ka na rin. Meron ako post abt it.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 116 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

What are you going to do when you're happy?

I dunno... Do you mean when I have a million billion bucks? 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60132.86
ETH 3383.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51