War for the Planet of the Apes: Simply the best film so far this yearsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #movie7 years ago (edited)

When War for the Planet of the Apes ended, I froze. I stood motionless in my chair and stunned at what I had just witnessed: a fantastic movie, full of emotion, that defies everything that supposedly should be a big budget blockbuster. And it's about a planet of apes.

The story of the film is not too complex, but each character has its own role. The relationships between them are really important, the scenes have consequences that are not limited to the simple show and the characters know how to take the story. This great feature shows the astonishing work created with a great effort, from the fantastic special effects artists of Weta Digital to the human actors under the CGI. These actors give so much of themselves that their emotions can be felt under the digital skin of each of the apes; Providing every moment, whether human or simian, a personal touch.

Set two years after the end of Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, we see that Caesar (Andy Serkins) and his apes have spent a long time fighting the soldiers summoned at the end of the film. However, just when they seem to have found a way out, a colonel (played by Woody Harrelson) manages to try to defeat the apes, and Caesar is forced to overcome that challenge.

But make no mistake: despite the simple story, War for the Planet of the Apes is not the typical summer blockbuster. It's not fun. It's a dark film. The characters die, suffer and are tortured. Genocide, slavery, selfishness, heroism are evoked; But also all the good things that allow people or, sometimes, apes to survive and overcome those atrocities.

In the middle of everything is Caesar, again masterfully played by Andy Serkis. In War for the Planet of the Apes we see a different aspect of the character, one that we had not met in the previous films: his evil side. Here, his selfishness triggers many adversities, and it becomes increasingly difficult to be on his side. As the story progresses, the public will not always sympathize with Caesar. Moreover, the film seeks to question how different he is from the colonel. This is one of the elements that make the film's history complex.

That complexity is conducted brilliantly by director Matt Reeves. From the first scenes, which recapitulate briefly and poetically the first two films, Reeves is in complete control of the tone of the film, the characters and history in general. Its precision is remarkable: it dominates both the quiet scenes and the sequences of action. It can even make us afraid of our own thoughts. The director explains the plot organically and subtly in the scenes, but also conveys everything we need to know without needing to say a single word.

Much of Reeves' success stems from the splendid use of the soundtrack of composer Michael Giacchino. The movie is moving fast, but the music helps make everything feel cohesive, fluid and moving.

Although brilliant and powerful, War for the Planet of the Apes is much more a historical drama than an action movie. Just as you have to be in a proper frame of mind to digest movies like Schindler's List or 12 years of slavery, War for the Planet of the Apes has the same tone. Rarely does the movie become "funny" (if it ever does).

But although the movie is not fun, this is not a problem. It's supposed to be like this. War for the Planet of the Apes is meant to make us feel emotions, pain and rejoicing, and it does so in a grand and dramatic way, with the most amazing visual effects you've ever seen. It's a special movie, a wonderful sequel and definitely one of the best films of the year.

This has been my small critical contribution to this movie, now I would like to know your opinion to expand the analysis. Please vote and comment!

Regards, Antonio.

Sort:  

Great write-up. I'm looking forward to seeing it! Thanks @antonio!

Is a great movie, for me the best of this year. Although Wonder Woman is not far behind. Regards, Antonio

I still haven't seen Wonder Woman either - Been a busy month with EOFY. Hopefully I'll get some downtime now and be able to head along to see both!

I haven't seen it yet. I am supremely jealous. But, everything you've said I've seen in other places. And every time I read one of these reviews my excitement rises a little higher.

I thought Dawn was outstanding... I watched it and Rise recently with my 11 year old daughter who loved them. And, interestingly, showed a lot of maturity in her analysis that I hadn't seen from her before. Matt Reeves' love of the material really showed in Dawn.

It was such an upgrade over Rise, which, while good, demanded that the humans be morons to move the plot forward. None of that was in Dawn. Prejudice? Yes. Stupid to the point of stretching believe-ability? no.

I can only hope War lives up to its pre-release hype. But, I have a feeling it will.

Wonder Woman was excellent. I cannot wait to own it.

Thanks for the review.

War for the planet of the apes allows to see how a premature civilization evolved and how its laws and ways of life are developed. In addition, the story is narrated in an exceptional way taking the viewer by surprise in each event that is shown.

Matt Reeves goes deeper into differentiating between humans and apes, but making it clear on the way that we actually have more in common with them than we believe. Both have a clear leader who want to avoid war. And on both sides are those who distrust the intentions of the other. How to blame some? Humans have lost everything by believing that the simian virus is the culprit, and apes distrust men after years and years of torture, experimentation and ill-treatment. There will be a point where apes fight between them and humans do what even drawing a parallel between their actions.

Undoubtedly the movie has a great narrative and directional work that does not allow us to take our eyes off the screen and makes us wish this story is never finished.

Thanks for confirming my suspicion that it was going to be a great movie. I'll have to go see it!

Believe me, you will not regret watch this movie

Thanks for your post. My steemit is about 'movie'. So if you are interested in movie, you can come my blog and share your thinking. :)

That's great, I like to write about movies and TV shows. I will check your blog. Regards, antonio

I'm sorry, but I'm limited with your language hahaha I don't understand Korean

Oh sorry too. I will rewrite or write new in english! When i finished writing, I will let you know :) Thanks

Thanks for this one @anto2318 I wanna go see it now :)

hey lets help each other . u follow me and vote my post and i will follow u and vote your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51