Three films that inspire learning mathematics(created in Hollywood).

in #movie7 years ago (edited)

The man who knew infinity:


credit IMDB
We are always excited to see people geniuses that everything goes to them easily, and our part is that even annoying, there are some people who have made the face of science different because of this genius, and it did not go so easily for them

When you look at high school math, things look pretty boring, especially at first.
In these films, of course, they do not talk about the math they study in high school (although in high levels even high school can be interesting)
I studied three courses in Number Theory, a basic course, a medium course and an extension course.
I learned that the most interesting subject in mathematics is numerology, so the film "The Man Who Knew Infinity" is a book for those who like to see how and how mathematics connects our world to one round and complete thing in which there is a great deal of what we know.
The film is about an Indian genius who is considered one of the greatest mathematicians of all time - Srinivasa Ramanujan in the film talking about a very specific topic that Srinivasa Ramanujan is trying to solve
For example, if I have the number 2, it can be expressed using two forms (1 + 1, 2 + 0)
It seems easy so far - when you reach the number of 100 possibilities to express the number 100 by connecting numbers smaller than a hundred is very large! The film deals with the genius of Ramongan and how without a degree managed to do things that very few people in history have succeeded, (over 3000 different mathematical identities in number theory!).


Once one of the greatest mathematicians in history Leonard Euler was asked by the Queen of Russia "Do you have proof of the existence of God"

Leonard Euler answered-yes
"If you raise the number e (number of Euler~2.71) in the number of "I" times the "pie" the result is Minus One)
This is my proof that there is a God (of course things are a bit more complicated when one of the smartest people in history says something like that).

Hidden Figures

credit IMDB
"Beware of the children of the poor from whom the Torah will come out"
Trial of the Jewish religion.
In fact, say that you are careful, from the lowest places, the most intelligent Jewish scholars came out (smart people in Judaism have a very strong position - of course they have to be good people together).

Inside the film Hidden Figures, one can see that the possibility of the United States reaching the moon came from the black people, whose status was very low
If the toilets were separate, they would have to deal with very limited information because the information was classified only for white people.

A fascinating film based on a true story! Worth watching (more hollywood style then "The man who knew infinity" )

Good Will hunting

credit geek.com

One of the most fascinating films I have seen, the actors, the story, the directing
The legendary Robin Williams (blessed memory)
The story of Will hunting is said to be about a real genius who had a higher IQ than usual.
I will not give you a review on the film I will simply recommend to anyone who loves mathematics to see it (in the case of this film - even those who do not like math)

credit IMDB

Sort:  

Sadly I have not seen any of them.
Infinity looks interesting to me, will try to catch up on this one.
Well coming on the subject Maths, I have been very poor in my school days in this subject. I still remember in my 4th grade in one of the test I got zero.....hahaha and my dad fumed up.
May be that's the reason I never came across these movies :)

It is an excellent review, thank you very much @amiramnoam.

I recently saw Pi. It is a very particular surrealist film that, although it doesn't have the hollywood's ornateness (it is directed by Aronofsky, you know what to expect) offers the receiver an interesting view about the infinite possibilities of mathematics.

Of course, this movie is difficult to digest but I would recommend it if you like to see other perspectives.

Thank you very much for sharing.

PS: I loved Hidden Figures.

Good Will Hunting is definitely one my all time favourites.

I just love how he is a genius, but doesn't "act" smart, while some other people are not that smart, and they act like geniuses.

That reminded me, I should really watch it again.

I especially love that scene in a bar when Will "destroyed" that guy with knowledge.

That guy was acting like a smart guy, and Will exposed him as a person without their own opinion.

there is such a beautifully done fiction; started and finished; a perfect story; ayrica 1st world warfare-related ships and stadiums; Hardy's and Ramanujan's relationship with the film throughout the film is the result of this film. @amiramnoam

@amiramnoam - I can not believe I have not seen two of the 3 lovely movies you list. I have only seen and admired 'The man who knew Infinity'. Ramanujab was truly a mathematical genius. I am a big fan of his work.
Thanks for highlighting this. You have studied many things my friend - number theory too!!!

Upvoted full

Regards,

@vm2904

The first movie which popped into my head when i read math is Pi. I saw it nearly 20 years ago and i still vividly remember parts of it.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0138704/?ref_=nv_sr_4

Love "Good Will Hunting" as well and will check out "The Man Who Knew Infinity" as I'm also intrigued by Numerology... Good reviews, thank you @amiramnoam, like that you keep it personal! :)

Reko_3

I have seen the second and third and enjoyed them both the first one I havent but will have to watch out for now

@amiramnoam Great recommendations, I've watched all of those movies. Euler was a great mathematician, one of the greatest along with Gauss. I highly recommend watching Pi.

the movie named pi?

@amiramnoam Yeah, it is a 1998 production! Source

And "A Beautiful Mind" :)

wonderful movie!

It' s realy realy fantastic movie. I missed the mind watching the movie

Ramanujan! A true life tragedic story
It hurt me that he died tho!
He derived equations he couldn't prove
He claimed it was the thought of God!
Wonderful movies

Did not like the separation of whites and blacks in hidden figures though. It was sad!

I'm a math lover myself and these movies inspired me!
Nice post! @amiramnoam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83