Flashback Reviews: Star Wars Side Projects Part I (Caravan of Courage)

in #movie-review8 years ago

A couple of weeks ago, I posted two pieces on The Star Wars Holiday Special. After posting these, I was chatting with @sauravrungta and he said that he had never heard of this debacle and could not keep track of all of the different Star Wars side projects. He suggested I post about them.

Sauravrungta... your wish is my command!

Since 1978, there have been nine movies and TV shows that are not considered part of "the Saga". I've decided to tackle these in chronological order. Luckily, we already have the Star Wars Holiday Special out of the way. That is by far the worst one of the bunch.

After the epic embarrassment caused by the Holiday Special, it took 6 years for Lucas to try again. The first fiasco involved Wookies. The next two involved... Ewok.



The tag line is "You'll live the adventure... You'll love its heroes."
No you won't. No one will.

In 1984, ABC presented a full length made-for-tv movie called Caravan of Courage. The movie was also released in theaters in Europe. Why? I have no idea. On behalf of the U.S. I would like to apologize to Europe for exposing you to this garbage. How do I know it is garbage? First, I saw it when it was first run. Second, I own the DVD? Why? I have two young kids. Young kids sometimes like garbage... especially when it involves cute little bears running around.

The movie takes place between Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi. The movie centers around two children, named Mace and Cindel, who are stranded on Endor after their ship crashes there. Their parents have been captured by a monster called a Gorax.



I am the Gorax and I speak for the trees...
No I speak for the union of bad mask wearing "actors".

The children, with the assistance of some Ewoks, must find their parents Catarine and Jeremitt.

But it does not start out that smoothly. When the children first start looking for their parents, they are discovered buy an Ewok named Deej. Being such a fierce and formidable looking foe, Mace attempts to kill Deej. Luckily he fails. Deej and some other reworks capture the children and take them back to they village where they cook and eat them... wait no they don't. Instead, the little girl, Cindel makes friends with Wicket.



Holy smokes! Just look at those cold dead eyes. It's terrifying!
Whatever you do little girl, don't turn around!

Next, the Ewoks kill a monster and find the parents' monitor. This immediately causes an Ewok named Logray to deduce that the parents have been taken by the Gorax. The Ewoks form a "Caravan of Courage" to rescue the children's parents. How do they know the parents are even alive? Ancient Ewok secret????

Along the way, the caravan runs into Tinkerbell... I mean Izrina who is a "Wistie". My son's absolute favorite character, an Ewok named Chukha-Trok also joins the team. My son (who was 8 at the time) found this Ewok to be particularly entertaining and brave. Because my son couldn't wait to see more of him in the sequel, the writers decided it would be a great idea to have him die in a heroic battle with the Gorax. My son teared up at this. Luckily, Mace uses Chukha-Trok's axe to strike the final death blow to The Gorax. Then my son balled for thirty minutes. He would have rather seen every stupid human die rather than that one particular Ewok.


Can we get a closeup of this lifeless corpse? Timmy isn't hyperventilating yet.
By the way, where did the eyelids come from? Do they grow in when they die?

As my son continued to cry, the family is reunited and decides to stick around Endor for the sequel.

The acting is horrendous. The story is ridiculously bad. The special effects are terrible.

On a positive note, Burl Ives is the narrator for the story so you can have some fun picturing him as the snow man from Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer... but on Endor.



Have a holly jolly Ewok celebration. it's the best time of ... never.

I am not going to get into the minutia of whether or not these movies are officially "canon". Instead I will simply say whether or not anything from the movies will help you to enjoy the main movies more.

This movie will not enhance your enjoyment of anything ... ever... in the history of time.

Should you see it? No. Please no.

Is there anyone else here who actually suffered through this?

Image Links 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Sort:  

I saw one of these but I honestly can't remember which one it was...

I have the second one of these coming out either today or tomorrow. I don't want to spoil it lol. Either way, you saw the bad one.

I haven't heard of this before. Thanks... I guess...

You are welcome. It maybe I should say I'm sorry. lol I did the sequel today. Bad movie but I tried to make the review a bit more entertaining

honestly..... (looking over both shoulders, and whispering in a low voice as if it makes my type any less transparent) I love this movie!!!! cherish and love . I could cuddle it, wrap myself up with it, with hot chocolate and falling snow. I could die watching this film. I mean a small part of me that is. Chalk it up to childhood issues really, I do infact understand (with my head hung low) this is infact........... a bad film

There is no shame in admitting this at all! We all have our guilty pleasures. One of mine is a really bad movie called Battle beyond the Stars. I fell in love with it as a kid and I just can't let it go.
I think I should amend my last question and add "Is this movie anyone's guilty pleasure"? It actually makes me happy knowing someone out there loves this movie. It's like one of the misfit toys from Rudolph. Did you like the sequel Battle for Endor? I am literally going to watch that with my son as soon as I'm done typing this response. On a side note, I have been following your music posts since you came on board. I really enjoy them. Back in the 90s I went to a lot of clubs. My favorite music was Industrial... second favorite was techno music with beautiful females voices. I really enjoy your music.

hey thanks a lot for the nod to my music, thats huge!! That my realm of life expression so means a ton when people are diggin it! I liked the battle of endor as well. Both movies ment a lot to me as a kid. love the misfit toys reference. I may have to sit with my young ones and watch these films again as well. They just come with cozy feeling to me. lol! I am gonna have to watch as well battle beyond the stars. I dont recall that one. I am and have always been a huge space movie junkie. The explorers comes to mind and the last starfighter. huge ups my friend

I loved the last starfighter! I'm watching battle for endor as I type this. Had an ephiphany... but saving it for my next post. Stay tuned. I tried watching battle beyond the stars with my son but had to turn it off. I forgot that it was a roger corman movie. So it was a bit more inappropriate than I remembered. It's magnificent seven in space.

thanks for the head up on that, i would have went in blind, probly with the kids lol

will be looking for your next post

So did I. I completely forgot it. My wife still makes fun of me for it.

Wow, you've enhanced my knowledge! Although I would be happier without it...

LOL. If it makes you feel better... I actually paid money for it. So you are far better off than me. ;)

Awesome!! Exelent post!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50