A Geeky Dad's Movie Guide: Dr. Strange (Standard 2D)

in #movie-review7 years ago (edited)

On Saturday, I took my 11 year old son to see the standard 2d version of Dr. Strange. I did not bring my 9 year old daughter. I am writing this review from the same perspective as my preview two reviews: an adult watching a movie intended for kids. In full disclosure, I love all of the movies of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I used to read the comic books, watch the cartoons and play superhero tabletop games... so I am definitely biased (hence the word "Geeky" in the title).



Image Link

To help put this review in perspective, I have seen every one of the Marvel Cinematic Universe movies beginning with 2008's Iron Man. My favorite is Guardians of the Galaxy with the Avengers a close second. My least favorite is The Incredible Hulk. Aside from the Incredible Hulk, I would watch them all again.

So now to Dr. Strange. Although I enjoyed the experience, I would place this movie near the bottom of my list. It is definitely better than The Incredible Hulk. Perhaps it is on par with the Thor movies... which were entertaining but not great.

The use of the word "experience" was no accident. The special effects in this movie are simply the most amazing thing I have ever seen. If you have seen Inception, imagine the scenes where the city is folded... then imagine a bunch of magical ninjas fighting on those buildings as they change. It was breathtaking. There is constantly something visually amazing displayed before you. Unfortunately for my son and I, it was little too much.

My family does not enjoy 3d movies. They tend to fatigue our eyes and leave us with a little motion sickness. Therefore, we avoid them. I could not imagine seeing the movie in 3d. It would simply be too much for us (for those of you who like 3d... go see this movie immediately! I can't imagine how awesome it is if you can handle it!). Even in 2d, my son and I left the theater feeling a bit queasy. In fact, during the middle of the movie, my son reclined his seat and rolled onto his side to watch because he was not feeling well.



Image Link

But that is our problem.

For people who like roller coasters and can handle 3d movies, I bet this would be the coolest thing they have ever seen on screen. Because the movie is based on magic, the backgrounds are constantly moving. Floors and walls transform. Characters do not have to obey the laws of physics and can transition from running on the floor to the ceiling in two steps. At one point, there is an unforgettable action sequence where the characters are in regular time while everything else is slowly moving back in time. I have seen battles where everyone is frozen in time except the combatants... but everyone moving in reverse? It was stunning.

So it sounds like we have two pluses for this movie. It has mind blowing special effects and great action sequences. But here's the problem... it's an origin story. Most origin stories are the least exciting of the series because they have to tell so much story.

Dr. Strange does a good job of explaining how and why Stephen Strange became the powerful sorcerer he eventually becomes... but from a kid's point of view (and the geeky dad next to him) it seems to take forever.



I can't wait for the action to start...
Image Link

Marvel knows what its audience wants, so of course, the movie beings with a really cool ten minute action sequence. Then it gets into the story of an incredibly talented surgeon with the standard love interest. Next, the movie goes into character-build mode and shows Stephen Strange as an arrogant, yet funny, doctor who loves music.

Because I don't want to spoil anything, I have to "yada, yada, yada" over the next few minutes of the movie. Yada yada yada... Strange ends up in Nepal* where he begins the standard part of many origin stories... the training. Strange meets his teacher and participates in many, many minutes of training. Most of the spells look really cool and the explanation of the powers was essential, but it took very long time.

Once the action sequences finally began, they were incredible. They included great effects, perfect choreography, and enough witty banter to make them enjoyable. Like all of these movies, there are minor battles mixed with some more story telling leading up to the final battle. Even the final battle was more cerebral than exciting. But again, it looked amazing.

I left the theater thinking, "That was cool. Glad they got that story out of the way so the next ones can be more fun." When I asked my son what he thought, he said he loved it. I probed a little further and asked him where he would rank it compared to the other Marvel movies. In the past, whenever he had seen a new Marvel movie, he would always report that the most recent one had become his new favorite. This was not the case with Dr. Strange. He was able to list at least three movies he liked better. As I reminded him of others, Dr. Strange kept falling lower on the list. It seems my son had the same opinion as I did: he liked it but did not love it.

Geeky Dad's Movie Guide

Number of times I fell asleep: 0
Number of eye rolls: 0
Number of face palms: 0
Number of times my kids asked to go to the bathroom or get food out of sheer boredom: 0
Number of times I checked steemit:3
Number of times I said "That's ridiculous":0
Did my kid like it: Yes
Would I see it without my kids: Yes... because I am a superhero geek
Full price/Matinee/Rental/Free/Not worth the time: Matinee (If you see this, you must see it in a good theater on the big screen)

Special note: My 11 year old son liked it. My 9 year old daughter would have been bored.

As a reward for making it to the end of the post, I present to you...



Giphy Link

*Thank you @sauravrungta for catching my geographical error. In the original post, I mistakenly wrote "India".

What is your favorite super hero movie? What movie do you think has the best visual effects?

Sort:  

Great review, but somewhat discouraging!
I watched it in 3D and really liked it.
Here is my humble review: https://steemit.com/cimema/@richman/cinema-billboard-marvel-s-doctor-strange-review

I should have mentioned that I love marvel movies so much that there is no shame being on the bottom of the list. I also wish I had written that i would see it again right now. It was fun just not top of my list.

Oh, I totally forgot that you commented on my review, sorry :D
Actually I would watch this movie again too.

Want to go? I'm buying!

Dunno really, perhaps will wait for DVD :D

movie intended for kids.

It's PG-13... I wouldn't exactly say that's intended for kids.

Number of times I checked steemit:3

This is also half the number of times I would have thought about punching you for looking at your phone in a theater. :P

It definitely suffered from being an origin story, but I thought they kept enough jokes during the origin to keep it fun. Once the action really started I forgot entirely about the slowness of the origin story.

I'll agree it's not my favorite, which is still probably Guardians of the Galaxy, but it's definitely high on the list. Can't wait for the sequel!

I hear what you are saying about "the kids movie" idea. I used that term rather loosely. I should have started this one with specifically "older children". I definitely wouldn't take a 6 year old to see this. But I personally don't look at pg13 as a hard rule not to bring my kids. It just means "parents strongly cautioned" so it gives me an indication that I need to do a little research before taking my kids. Many pg13 are inappropriate for my kids... But not all. If I eliminated all of them, my kids couldn't see Star Wars the Force Awakens.
Oh one more thing the "check Steemit" is a joke. I was just trying to use it metaphorically to indicate that I got bored a few times. I'm definitely not a phone in the theater guy lol.

I love your criteria! Great review. Thanks.

Thanks! Sometimes you've got to keep it simple. I really should narrow it down even more to two types of movies: ones you can sit through in theater... and ones you trick your kids into missing until they come out on video.

I really loved the batman movies made by Christopher Nolan, but that was probably because they were less fantasy and more reality... at least as real as a billionaire by day that wears a mask/cape and fights crime by night can be :)

That is a great call. The last 2 especially. I consider them more of a hero stopping a terrorist move than a strict super hero movie. Could be any action hero... This one just happens to be a billionaire ninja
lol

This is a good opportunity to provide some perspective on the pg13 desticntion. My kids are not ready for these movies. They are way too dark even though they are pg13. Pg13 is such a huge category, for me it just gives me a heads up that I need to do some research.

Any marvel film is great on a plane, where I watch most movies.

I never read this superhero, but think the trailer looks great.

It would be wild to watch this on a plane. There are so many cool visuals. I wonder what it would be like to watch while flying...

I guess I don't understand the nuances of Marvel.
I woulnd't call DeadPool a child's movie nor Luke Cage, Jessica Jones nor Daredevil...unless children have changed a LOT. (possible)

Not to say they are bad movies/shows...they're GREAT....but not for kids.

I definitely don't consider those specific ones for kids at all. I think marvel was specifically trying to create that very clear distinction with those shows. The movies are meant to be fun... Those others get pretty dark. I love dead pool and the Netflix shows but there is no way my kids are seeing those any time soon. I think your assessment is dead on.

I love what they are doing with these movies! Even the lower ones on my list are all fun!

The last meme is hilarious!
My favorite super hero movie is The amazing Spiderma, with Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone. I've always been a fan of the Spiderman Series!

Thanks! I stumbled upon that gif by accident and that it was so awesome that I had to include it! I really liked the first Spider Man reboot. I thought Emma Stone stole the movie... and then the sequel happened and I was shocked (in a really bad way). I am very excited about the new spiderman. After seeing the kid in Civil War, I was immediately sold. They are going to make it fun!

Your last para has ".. powerful soccer". huh?
I've watch the movie too the ending with the time loop scenario was a bit lame to me.

Lol that was an autocorrect of "powerful sorcerer " thanks for catching that. I missed it. D'oh!

I thought it would be sorcerer but just want to be sure. :-)

This reminds me of the article I posted on Monday.

Nice review! I was pondering on whether I should catch this in the theater or not. I think I will try to catch the 3D version. Thanks!

Thanks! If you are going to see it, definitely see it on the big screen. The effects are stunning. Some I have never seen before.

Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment! I did read that article . I agree with many of your points. Just to varying degrees. I too believe that some PG 13 movies are inappropriate for kids under 13... just not all of them. And there are varying degrees within the rating. Some PG 13 are fine for a 10 year old, but inappropriate for a 5 year old. Then there are some that I wouldn't watch with my 16 year old (if I had one). That rating is flawed in that it is a catch all for everything between age 5 and 17. There is no way one rating can tell you where in that range a movie falls. That is why I simply use it as a "hey heads up... you might want to look into this one". As a parent, PG and G means I can safely take any kid (not a crying baby). R tells me "no way!". But PG 13 just tells me "do some research". I did research and this one was fine for my 11 year old. But I too have been in some movies with inappropriately young children. I believe the worst was when I went to see Matrix 3 which was rated R and there was a 5 year old behind me. So I definitely see your point.

Here's an example of a PG 13 movie that was made specifically for kids (exactly what age kids is up to the individual): Star Wars The Force Awakens. Both of my kids loved that movie (because they have my DNA). I couldn't imagine not taking them to see that in the theaters. I still remember seeing Star Wars in the theaters and it was one of the greatest memories of my childhood. If that came out today it would definitely be rated PG 13. They basically have to slap PG 13 on anything that has any action in it at all.

Thanks for reading my post. I liked yours, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12