Rainbow Bridge Sunrise For #mountainmonday

in #mountainmonday6 years ago

A few days ago, I got out to one of my favorite "go-to" spots for sunrise photography. It's a fairly easy spot to get to when I don't have a lot of time to spend hiking or driving further. Rainbow Bridge above Donner Lake and Truckee, California has provided many cool photos for me over the years. Although I was hoping for more explosive sunrise colors that were also higher in the sky, I really can't complain as the vibrant pinks were beautiful looking. I posted a video about the making of the image, I'll link it below in case you missed it.

click image to view large
_Q1A4759.jpg
"Sunrise at Rainbow Bridge 4"

Photographed with a Canon 5DS R and a 16-35mm lens set at 28mm. A graduated neutral density filter was used on the lens in order to darken the sky above the bridge a bit. The ISO was 400, the aperture was f11, and it was a 30 second exposure. The scene actually looked darker to the naked eye but the long exposure helped lighten the scene and also bring out more color to the lights of Truckee and Hwy 80 in the background. The RAW image was worked on in Photoshop's Camera RAW feature where I lightened the shadow areas quite a bit.

The making of this photo can be seen on a recent dtube video HERE.


This image is also being submitted for @keithboone's #mountainmonday challenge. Shot from a mountain, with a mountain in the distance. More info about #mountainmonday can be found HERE.



Thank you for looking, watching, and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

Always great work! Love the sunrise shots

Thanks @dynamicrypo! It's a great time of year up here for the sunrises. Saw another awesome one this morning but unfortunately, it was on the way to a meeting and no time to shoot it. Cheers!

That is quite glorious! What a sight to see!

Yes, I was pretty lucky. Thank you @melinda010100!

Well worth the cold, wind and darkness
to behold such a gorgeous scene!
Very beautiful @scottshots! ☀

Indeed it was! Thank you @shasta!

Sunrise pictures are hard to take, and you did a good one.

Thank you @rosatravels! They can be difficult indeed, especially the waking up early part lol. Cheers!

Absolutely stunning photo! Thank you for sharing your talent with all of us!

Thank you @thecryt0couple! Glad you liked that photo and happy to share. Hope you two are doing great!

Outstanding shot, Scott! Awesome contribution to mountain Monday, thank you for sharing. I wish my upvote was worth something, sending only $0.01 to this shot seems like a crime! I'm going to check out the video as well. U+R :)

Haha! No worries, I appreciate the upvote and resteem, thank you!

I (@aweber) remember that bridge from the photogames days! Resteemed!

Correct! Yup, I have shot a lot of photos of that bridge over the years. Thank you!!!

Nice shot enjoy the description on how you attained it @scottshots

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56