Lon las Cymru training: Brenig & Alwen

IMG_6354.JPG

I've been getting a bit sick of the same old boring routes lately whilst out on the push iron, so I decided to throw the mountain bike in the back of the van and take the fifty minute drive up to the Alwen reservoir in Conwy county. After all, with a new bike imminent, this would be my last blast on the mountain bike for a while.

The car park is situated right next to the 27 meter high, Alwen dam with its Game of Thrones like tower. I'ts tempting to begin the ride by crossing the dam under its 1900's arches but the best route heads away from the dam, up through the forest, following the length of the reservoir.

IMG_6355.JPG

The route winds through the pine forest hugging the stony beaches and secluded micro coves, gradually climbing up onto the hills that flank the water. On a sunny day this place reminds me of Canada or Norway without the snow. The smell of pine, glistening blue waters and the purr of my tires on the forest floor feeds the soul.

IMG_6337.JPG

Peeling away from the reservoir along a bridal way, there's a fairly easy traverse over to Llyn Brenig, the biggest of the two bodies of water. The reasonably flat and wide track gives you the opportunity to enjoy some amazing vistas West over to the mountain ranges of Snowdonia.

IMG_6343.JPG

After following the track for a few miles I came to a junction where all the signs were weathered beyond recognition. I scanned my surroundings and concluding that I was at the highest point of my ride, I decided to take a left, following a sign that looked like a horse (denoting a bridle way), towards a juicy descent that surely led me to the next lake.

I'd rode up here a couple of times before but being part of a larger group and like the true daydreamer that I am, I never really took any notice of the route details.

The descent was as good as it looked and I could see the lake in the distance. Running out of gears, I free wheeled down a tarmac road, skipping round some speed bumps at high speed. A 4x4 was approaching in the distance so I pulled over to let them past.

As the car reached me, the window rolled down and two guys, with cockney accents proceeded to tell me I was, in fact, on private land and tear arsing it down someones drive way. They were the owners of a nearby trout farm and pointed out that I had taken a wrong turn at the junction and mistaken the trout sign for a horse one!

I now faced a beast of a climb back up to the junction. I wrapped the chain around the baby crank and peddled like a lunatic, imagining the two guys in the 4x4 placing bets at when I'd give up and push. Spurred on by whichever of the bastards was betting against me, I sweated it out to the junction without a single step on the floor. Boom, mini victory.

IMG_6342.JPG

Remembering this part from my last visit, I came across this random, rotten train carriage with an equally rotten rowing boat inside. Wales does have tendencies of throwing these little quirky things at you when you least expect them.

Still none the wiser as to the story behind the decaying vehicles than my previous visit, I pedaled on towards the Brenig.

IMG_6344.JPG

Llyn Brenig is a lot more popular than the Alwen, with its visitor centre, boating and fishing activities. The path around the lakes edge is flat but bumpy, churned up from the forestry machines that have left their stacks of logs neatly arranged in pyramids along the track.

An ugly construction rig dominates the view of the rarely still lake, but makes for an interesting view all the same.

IMG_6350.JPG

The final leg of the trail toys with a nice section of downhill single track, dipping through streams and fords that submerge the gravel track, before linking up with the Alwen again and approaching the car park over the dam for a nice little point of interest to finish.

At the beginning of this post I said this would probably be the last outing on the MTB for a while and after writing this post I severely doubt that to be the case now! I've only reminded myself of how I need to ride this route at least once a month.

Have a great Easter everyone and thanks for reading.

Sort:  

I have a mountain bike too. I venture in an unexplored locations nearby my home town. Your post inspires me to document some of my trip outside in nature. When I am riding the feeling of an continuous flow of air on my face keep me on the bike all the trip.
Thank you for sharing your adventure.
Peace

hi @x-53degreesnorth
really a nice story. I like to see the steps and photos of your journey, it seems to be there with you. We really like the bike but it's not really made for us! With every little climb my legs look like fire! Congratulations, I can smell the grass!

wooaw...such a lovely write up. and i really had fun with you in there. Every second spent on your blog was really worth it . and i know most users who loves to bike and travel around will even enjoy the fun more than i did. Great piece and keep the travel spirot up always

Looks like some great scenery and a fairly testing route at the same time. I would make the most of the good weather as I know it is more pleasant having the sun on your back. I guarantee those two guys were placing bets when you would stop and walk lol.

You have made an amazing work with your camera: your photo are so beautiful and the colours are TOP! The first one is great!!!
I would like to suggest you if you know @steemitworldmap. That project could be interesting for you😉👍
Steem on!

Simply stunning! Nice to come across you.💯🐒

El reacción (The Reaction): Oj mój Bóg, Oj mój Bóg!!!!~ (Oh my God, Oh my God!!!!~) These picturas (pictures) are just utterly breathtaking and just so eye-candy to view at any one moment. I have hearts popping out of my eyes seeing them, but más en las fotos/picturas sección (more in the photos/pictures section). The fact that this was done while biking makes me imagine how breathtaking (and once populated) this path was in its hay day, especially with (except the rig) these areas are formed by humankind and Nature here in Wales. Just uh!!!!~ But let’s get going to the other sections!~ <3

Las fotos/picturas (The photos/pictures): Now if anybody has read these comments on travel or hiking or biking posts, they will know I shall repeat these qualities. I like that your picturas are lifelike while clear and sharp. Makes it easy to not only see the details (in a non-blurry pictura) but to revel in the glory of these pictures. Then there’s the fact these are positioned so well that I feel like I am staring at a portal/window to the moment in time and can just enjoy it if I climb over. Then we got to see a multiplicity of places in conjunction to one area, just all well done as well!

El texto (The Text): Now I like the ration of text to pictures in this case. Less pictures means more words to give explanations to describe a scene (and what it means to the author) when one doesn’t take a lot of photos for people to build a mental map for themselves. Also the text has nicely written conversational/casual English, which also have no grammatical nor syntax issues. Lastly, these are all relevant to the post at hand (even when references to past posts are thrown around) and the area is given further contextualization - helping us the reader to understand it better.

So congratulations on the @curie upvote, keep on biking (and travelling) and happy steeming!!!!~

Hey thank you so much for the amazing comment! I loved the translations! made me smile

Congratulations @x-53degreesnorth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Great landscape pictures! We'd be happy to see you joining and sharing your works on our new decentralized social network of photographers https://creary.net. Start receiving rewards!

Hi x-53degreesnorth,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29