South African Being a Tourist for the First TimesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #mountain7 years ago

This February for my 60th birthday, I drove down to Cape Town to spend time with family and to relax and have a good time.  I stopped off at Beaufort West and spent the night at Matoppo Inn.  The following morning, after a full breakfast, I once more continued on my way.  

After a couple of days of relaxation and getting into being on holiday, my sister decided that it was time I did what the tourists do best and go on a trip via the Red Line Bus as well as travel to the top of Table Mountain for my birthday.  Considering I had never - in all the years of going down to Cape Town to visit family - been on the cableway, I agreed.  So off we went to the V&A Waterfront, parked the car and bought tickets for both the Red Line Bus Tour and the cableway.  By doing this we saved ourselves the trouble of having to stand in a queue at Table Mountain to buy tickets there.  What is also nice about this is you buy the day ticket which allows you to jump on and off at the various stops throughout the day and you can then get back onto any of the next Red Line buses to continue your trip.

 

Finally we arrived at Table Mountain and I could barely suppress my excitement.  On getting into the cable car, we left the docking station and started to climb and to my amazement, the floor in the cable car started to slowly turn around thereby giving us a full 360 degree view.  Wow.  It was amazing!!  I even forgot to take photos.  I would highly recommend that if you ever come to South Africa via Cape Town, you make the time and effort to do this.    

Definitely well worth it!

(Reference: http://www.matoppoinn.co.za/).

(Reference:  https://www.citysightseeing.co.za/cape-town).   


Sort:  

Cape Town is indeed a beautiful place. Have a look at my POST on the Swartland which is just outside Cape Town...next time you down you should travel the area.

@themagus will definitely do so. Have a beautiful country but never had the time to travel before so making up for it now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61932.16
ETH 3422.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49