Chronicles of Alan; Motorcycle Days 8

in #motorcycles7 years ago (edited)

I have mentioned before that the Stories of my Life are not necessarily in Chronological Order.

Among the Last bikes I owned were a Pair of Laverda's and a Moto-Guzzi Le Mans Series 3 1000cc.

The Laverda Engines were called 180's because unlike the Triumph and BSA Triples which were 120 Degrees , ( All pistons evenly spaced on the Crankshaft)
The Laverdas were 2 pistons up one down or Vice Versa. This caused the Motor to be a bit rough below about 6000rpm , but then smoothed up and Howled like a Ferrari Daytona with open pipes . The idling, (if you could get them to?) sounded like a dog fight , I assume because of the strange firing pattern?

I had a 81, Laverda Jota with the Bikini Fairing, Bigger Valves and Ports for 81 and was the Fastest Production Bike available at the Time.

They were usually Orange as they were very successful in Endurance Racing , and Orange was easier for the Lap Counters to spot at Night!

You had to Be Physically Strong to ride them, Clutch was very Heavy, Brakes had to be pulled Hard.

The Bikes saddle heights were not suited to short people but taller Guys ( Yours Truly )found them very comfortable.

Another Strange Thing about Laverdas is that the Instruments were Japanese ( Looked exactly like the Honda ones) and the Redline on the Rev Counter was at 6500rpm , they actually comfortably revved to 8500 rpm and the big power started at about 7000rpm

This is a Jota 1000 180 going around the Isle of Man TT Circuit on a Parade Lap ( obviously took it seriously)

We have a bit of a Pass with a tight right hand bend at the top , going out of Krugersdorp toward Pretoria, I went into the right hander at about 150kph ,

which was a Great Time to discover that the Back Shocks had just packed in

and the Bike went skittering and hopping to the edge of quite a long drop , but luckily I just managed to keep it on the Road.

Immediate , much more relaxed Driving Style to Stan's house , a Friend of Mine with a Huge Bike Collection . His one Vincent , is probably the World's most valuable Motorcycle.

Anyhow Simon F was at his house, The Editor of Bike SA Magazine, he gave me a set Of Mulholland Back Shocks which sorted out my problem.

This is a Whole Batch of Laverdas on a Parade Lap around the Spa Circuit in Belgium.

I was really attached to this Laverda and would probably still have it if....

Don't you just love People who keep you in suspense?

Sort:  

which was a Great Time to discover that the Back Shocks had just packed in

Perfect timing indeed, glad nothing serious happened.

You can kind I see the camera shaking at lower speed/rpm in the video - this amuses me considering the dog fight analogy you gave. Once the bike is cruising the camera evens out - maybe it is just me though.

If.... you still own one? Haha, sounds like a future post from you @awgbibb.

Just loved it my passionate friend @awgbibb

Thank You , so Much, Appreciate you.

I'm so short, it wouldn't be wise for me to ride anything over 100cc. Love the post and I want to ride a bike now. @luvbnamome wouldn't like that though. Maybe I will buy a bike and keep it at another location and not let her know about it. @awgbibb, ride on my friend.

"Riders on the Storm" very good post ,as always :)

A bloody cliffhanger!!!!!
HAHAHA well played, Sir!

You have a real passion for a good motor bike, don´t you? :-)

Yes I do, Thank You.

wish I was there so that you can teach me how to ride the bike.

Motorcycles finaly !!

thats a badass bike , the sound of the exhaust ... man

very good post friend good luck
i do follow for you ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47