When your bike's heart leaks!

After completing my recent trip to Spiti Valley, I parked my bike at the parking lot at my home and didn't touch it for two weeks. When I thought of taking her out after two weeks, I noticed that she was leaking oil from the engine. That's a big no no to ride in such condition.

Alright, to take her to the hospital (the service center) I gotta start her. When I tried starting her, there was no reaction. The battery was dead. So, I had to jump start the bike by connecting the battery to my car battery. When I attempted that, this happened:

Fortunately...

How to know?

Precautionary measures to take, always.

Finally, I fired the engine and took her to the Service Station. The power seemed down.

The Service guys decided to give her a shower first. I feel tempted to peep.

There she is, peeping back at me, all wet!

The service guys in here do a really good job at washing. Finally she was raised on the lift to check underside of the bike. Her turn indicators needed a replacement.

And so were these head bushes of the engine. These were the culprits that were leaking the oil.

The Service guy assured me that the new washers were made of pretty good quality and were a made of rubber and aluminium ensuring a long life. Her heart looked clean and pretty after the surgery. The surgery was a successful one and I was joyful.

The happiness didn't last long. I was on my way home after paying the bills and realised that the power was still down. Later I realised that it was never due to the oil leakage in the engine but the front wheels were jamming. I had already ridden 5 kilometers from the Service Center but I took a U-turn and headed back.

Upon inspection, the SVC guy says that itis happening cuz of the rim bend and the rim will have to be replaced. The rim costs 4 grand and I thought they were just planning to make some quick bucks by changing the rims. I decide to head back home, talk to my biker friends and my bike's personal doctor about this issue.

I did that recently and have come to 2 conclusions: One is that the front brakes are faulty and there's some issues with the callipers and the other is that the ball bearings of the front wheel is damaged and that is causing the jam. Now all depends on getting these two checked at the service center again. Let's hope this story will have a better ending and that I don't have to shell out too much from the pocket. The bear markets aren't helping either.

Hope you enjoyed this little tale.

Cheers!

#WandererOnWheels

Psst.. borrowed the thumbnail image from Pixabay
Sort:  

Bike rides r love.... I'm a rider too.... Bikes are basically love....nd I too ride and like to be going in a long journey through bike.... Let's create history by helping each other on steemit platform I followed uh kindly hope same thing from uh

Ouch! Rims... And the automatic bike wash bay is pretty awesome.

I've been thinking about getting spoke wheels for my bike. Those are pretty strong and can take some big hits.
That's actually not automatic. It's just a wash area with all the manual wash equipments.
Good to see another biker! :D

How was your Spiti ride.. It's still my best travel so far..

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, it was wonderful!
I will share the experiences and travelogues later in here :)

Can I get a follow back and upvote from uh brother which can help me in growing the steemit community and will glad to possess knowledge which u share if possible

Content matters.

Okay bruh I will try to keep posting some trendy posts

It's not about posting trending topics. The writing should be original and come from the heart.

What bike is it?

It's a KTM Duke 200.

Oh wow, I had no idea they made a 200.

They make Duke 200 only for the Indian Market. It is basically a KTM 125 with increased bore because nobody would buy a 125cc KTM here.

Ah I see, that is why I had never heard of one before then, thanks for the info bro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43