Motorcycle Live 2017 – NEC Birmingham (Recap)

in #motorcycle6 years ago

Hello everyone, thought I would do a brief recap of my visit to the Motorcycle Live exhibition last November, with the new bikes revealed due to be released this year I wanted to share with everyone what Motorcycles I’m looking forward to seeing out on the streets and test riding.

Even though I live 10 minutes down the road from the National Exhibition Centre, this is the first time I have been able to have the time to go to Motorcycle Live, with a lot of promise for 2018 from manufacturers I was looking forward to seeing the all new ranges of models. Most excited the see what the main manufacturers would be offering In the way of A2 compatible/restrictable bikes, but also very much so interested in seeing the new 1 litre goliaths for 2018 too!

Fireblade.jpg

^First bike that really caught my eye at the show was the new Fireblade SP, I’ve never really been a huge fan of CBR1000rr and that’s only really because I see them everywhere; they are the middle-aged riders bike here in the UK. But the new 2018, is well in the looks department, faultless. This bike, especially in the colour scheme, is really a work of art. The only thing needed on this bike was a good full Akrapovic exhaust system!

SV650.jpg

^When I heard of the new SV650x, I was thinking that it would be a similar designed just retuned and redone version of the previous models; maybe with a different engine or something. However, when I came across it at the show, well, I was in for a surprise! Newly redesigned, a completely new bike, with a sort of modern-retro look to it. Now, I am a huge fan of the round front headlight, they are timeless, hit the nail on the head with this one. I really like the direction Suzuki are going with this one!

ducati scrambler.jpg

^Now, this was one of my favourite bikes at the exhibition, so I had to get a picture on it. This is the 2018 Ducati Scrambler 800, an attempt at a modern-retro scrambler that can not only look the part, but perform very nicely in the city with small off-road abilities. Id love to have one of these just to whip about the city on, love the style, and the handlebar bend is quite raised which gives a nice feeling of being in control and aware of surroundings.

20171125_113207.jpg

^They also had some race bikes there, includng this BSB Zx-10!

beast!.png

^This thing was an absolute beast, i could never imagine riding such a huge powerful bike such as the ZZR1400, its truly only a bike for those who seek absolute crazy speeds, a monster!

Overall, i had a great day with friends, seeing and sitting on all the new bikes. Speaking with like minded people, having a coffee with some of the pin up girls ;) , and having a blast on the rideout afterwards. From the show i saw a lot of bikes that i was interested in, i think that Honda as well as Kawasaki had the greatest lineup of new models this year with the likes of the CB1000 and the KZ1000. However in overall presentation, i have to say that the Ducati stand was the best looking, the Italians sure know how to show off their bikes.

5 Favourite Bikes At Motorcycle Live

  • SV650X
  • Honda CB1000
  • Ducati Scrambler 800
  • Aprilia RSV4 1000RR
  • KTM Superduke 790

Here are a few more pics from the show:

dueud.jpg

20171125_132937.jpg

20171125_104508(0).jpg

20171125_135300(0).jpg

20171125_131153.jpg

Thanks,
Toby

Life’s an Adventure, So Make It One on Two Wheels

Sort:  

The Norton looks classy. You didn't capture KTM 790?

Thanks for reading, I had so many photos, i couldn't seem to find the duke anywhere, the KTM stand was very busy when we where there so maybe i didn't get one because i dont have any KTM's on my folder... :(

I'm a huge fan of Honda and I rode the sc77 for a testing of Honda and the bike is just awesome. Superior in every aspect to the sc59 in my opinion. But the sc57 before facelift will still be one of the most beautiful Supersportbikes in my opinion.

Here in germany I visit the "Intermot" in Köln every two years.
it's also an Motorcycle exhibition and I just love to be there and see al the bikes and accessory manufacturers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56583.42
ETH 2984.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15