Cafe Racer Tank for Virago

in #motorcycle6 years ago

I just received the new tank I ordered for the Virago Cafe Racer conversion. You can see in my previous posts the the original fuel tank is definitely not suited for cafe racer styling so I needed to make a change. I ordered the new tank from ebay and it has arrived. I did some initial layout configurations to see how it would look and what is the best position. Check it out:

IMG_20180212_190559.jpg

In the previous post, I talked about how cafe racers are typically stripped down with the philosophy of "less is more". The other general style guide is to have a prominent straight horizontal line along the bottom edge of the tank and continuing to the seat. As you can see, the tank I purchased has the straight horizontal line on the bottom edge so we mocked up some coat hanger wires to approximate where the seat will be when it is installed.

IMG_20180212_201722.jpg

Obviously, this is all just mocked up but it was really good to do this to help visualize where everything is going to be. Also I used the bent coat hanger wire to help me choose the seat I want to get.

One more cool picture of the mock up:

IMG_20180212_201747.jpg

Any comments on the plan so far? What do you think?

Sort:  

nice tank! very good progress too

Little by little it comes together. This is recycling at its best, take something destined for a landfill and not only make it functional again but make it awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65074.63
ETH 2635.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83