Cavalcata! (part one)

in #motorbike6 years ago (edited)

LOGO.jpg
All pics by author

Hello my Steeming Pals!

Italiano

“Si va in Sardegna ragazzi” ci disse Mario.

Da poco tempo, grazie all'incoraggiamento di un gruppo di amici mi ero avvicinato alla pratica dell’enduro.

Cos’è l’enduro?

È un motorsport che consiste nello spendere soldi (spesso sproporzionati) per una motocicletta da fuoristrada e condurre la stessa con destrezza (si spera) su sentieri, vie e mulattiere di pianura, di collina e di montagna. Ci si impegna ad evitare l'asfalto.

L'enduro non sempre è una pratica tollerata dalla legge. Le regolano cambiano da zona a zona. Per alcuni tuttavia le restrizioni non fanno che aggiungere fascino alla faccenda.

A differenza dei miei amici ero un principiante, un imbranato, uno di quelli che rallenta il gruppo perché incapace di superare un tronco d’albero viscido alto 20 centimetri oppure perché sempre impantanato con la moto in 10 cm di fango.

Inoltre, del tutto inesperto, non ascoltai i consigli di chi ne sapeva più di me e feci il classico errore del principiante acquistando una KTM 525 di terza mano; una moto potentissima, troppo potente e nervosa che con fatica riuscivo a domare e che nessuno voleva al mio posto proprio per il carattere imprevedibile ed estremamente impegnativo del mezzo. Come se non bastasse la mia 525 attempata aveva qualche noia: perdeva olio, la frizione era da rivedere, una delle due forcelle lacrimava, la batteria era da cambiare, il filtro dell’aria da sostituire.

Mario, il più esperto del gruppo si era quindi improvvisato quell'estate una gita fino in Sardegna per partecipare alla “Moto-cavalcata del Sole”: un moto rally/raduno non competitivo aperto agli enduristi di tutta la penisola. Confesso che l’idea di una abbuffata di agnello, carta musica e Canonau mi convinse ad aggregarmi al gruppo di Mario pur sapendo che in sella, da principiante che ero, avrei sofferto tremendamente!

English

“We should all go to Sardinia” said Mario.

I had just started on my quest to become an seasoned Enduro bike rider and had joined a small group of friends who were into the sport big time.

What’s Enduro?

Enduro a motorsport that involves spending way too much cash on an off-road motorcycle and riding this on the dirt tracks, trails, hills, flats and mountains of a given area with as much acquired skill as possible. It’s intended as a challenge for man and machine to ride over (and thusly conquer) natural obstacles such as river beds, rocky terrain, muddy land etc. in all kinds of weather.

Enduro is generally frowned upon by the authorities and in some countries of the world is simply against the law. This however, seems to do little to deter the practice of the sport and for some it just adds to the appeal of the entire experience.

When Mario spoke about Sardinia I was no more than just a beginner and a clumsy one too. The kind of novice rider that slows down a group of more experienced “enduristas” because he cannot conquer a slimy a 20cm tree trunk or is the one to get stuck in no more than 10cm of boggy mud.

Furthermore, in my eagerness to get going I had totally ignored all advice given to me from my experienced pals and bought a third hand KTM 525, a beast of a machine, way too powerful for anyone but the the strongest of riders and renowned for it’s rough handling issues. It was the kind of bike nobody really wanted with its tiring temperament and attitude. Also, my 525 wasn’t in the best of conditions either. It leaked engine oil, the clutch was showing signs of wear, one of the front forks was dripping oil, the battery needed to be changed and the air filter replaced, too.

Fuel stop.jpg
Fuelling up in Sardinia

Ci imbarcammo a Livorno insieme ad altri appassionati dell’off road. V’erano jeep e rimorchi con moto in vista provenienti da tutto il Nord Italia. Mi sentii nervoso in quanto mi sembrò che stessimo andando incontro ad una gara amatoriale più che ad una scampagnata tra amici. C’era chi si atteggiava da star con abbigliamento firmato Honda, Yamaha, KTM con scarponi ed accessori costosissimi. Mentre li osservai non potei fare a meno di pensare alla mia vecchia 525 che stava senza dubbio creando la solita “pocia” d’olio nel furgone del Mario.


Arrivammo finalmente ad Olbia e ci sistemammo in un alberghetto in attesa dell’inizio delle ostilità.

Bck of van.jpg
Bikes in the van, ready to go

Il giorno successivo arrivò il gran momento: centinaia di enduristi schierati in sella ai propri mezzi come una divisione della cavalleria. Chi serio, chi sorridente, chi nervosissimo come me, ansioso di non voler mal figurare, infortunarsi e soprattutto rallentare i compagni di avventura: Mario, Carlo, Paolo.

“Attacca questo alla moto John e fai del tuo meglio oggi” mi disse Mario con un sorriso consegnandomi il numero 116 ritirato dalla segreteria del rally. “Un numero?”, mi domandai. “A cosa serve un numero per una scorrazzata tra amici?” Non ebbi il tempo di pensarci troppo. Era ora di accendere i motori.

Via! Uno ad uno in ordine di numero salimmo sul palco della partenza ed allo scandire del “tre, due, uno” dell’arbitro di gara partimmo uno ad uno a tutto gas.

Mario was the most experienced rider from our small group and his suggestion to go to Sardinia was all about the “Motocalvalcata del Sole” a non competitive enduro meet up and ride event open to enthusiasts from all over the Italian peninsula. I confess that it was mostly tempted to tag along in by the thought of tasting the island’s delicacies of lamb, flat bread and Canonau wine even though I knew that taking part in the ride meant stretching my limited off road riding prowess to it’s very uncomfortable limits!



So, Mario, Carlo, Paolo and I loaded our bikes onto Mario’s van one sunny June morning and headed off to Livorno for the ferry. There were plenty of other bikers on the vessel crossing with us that day. Shiny four by fours with new looking enduro machines on trailers in tow. I gazed at the spotless, new looking bikes and couldn’t help thinking of my ageing 525, leaking oil and making a mess inside Mario’s van.

We finally reached Olbia and spent the night in a small hotel before the start of all motorcycle hostilities the following day.

Finally tit was time for action. Early in the morning we joined hundreds of other enduro bikers at the designated starting point for the “cavalcata”. Everyone was lined up like a cavalry regiment on their machines, dressed in armour, ready for battle. Some riders were smiling, others seemed lost in thought and focussed but I felt anxious and worried. I wasn’t sure I was up for any of this racing business and was concerned I would hold up my friends, as usual. I didn’t want to feel the pressure of having to keep up with those faster than myself or riding beyond my comfort zone as I knew I risked getting hurt.

“Stick this to your bike John and do your best today” said Mario as he returned from the race director’s shack with race bibs for us all. Mine was number 116. “Why did I need a race number for a non competitive event?” I remember asking myself. I had little time to think about it though as it was time to fire up our machines.

Partenza.jpg
At the start post

Arrivai alla deviazione dove l’asfalto finì e venni subito avvolto da una nube di polvere e fumi di scarico sollevata da un centinaio di gareggianti di fronte a me. Dovetti rallentare per capire in che direzione proseguire. Qualcuno mi superò da dietro, altri si fermarono incerti come me.

Go! One by one following our bib order we were called onto the starting platform and on the count of three from the race marshal each of us blasted off full throttle.

Soon enough it got real. The tar ended and I found myself on the very first dirt track of the day. Suddenly, I was engulfed in a cloud of exhaust fumes and dust kicked up by a hundred or so riders ahead of me.

Steep Hill.jpg
Steep slippery hill

Proseguimmo tutti a tentoni ed il traffico sulla strada bianca si fece più fitto, fino ad intasarsi e fermarsi in una specie di ingorgo motociclistico gigantesco.

Cosa c’era li di fronte a noi? Un collo di bottiglia? Ma certo, eravamo giunti alla prima prova di abilità. Una salitona ripidissima con fondo viscido che richiedeva tecnica e velocità.
Rabbrividii vedendo piloti a terra e qualche moto cadere a rotoloni. Ma non feci in tempo a preoccuparmene poiché in quel preciso istante la mia 525 surriscaldata dalla coda si spense. Premetti il pulsante dell’avviamento. Niente. La batteria era morta. Colpa mia, sapevo che la batteria era da sostituire ed avrei dovuto provvedere prima di venire in Sardegna.

Ora forse alcuni di voi ignorano il fatto che tentare di avviare “a pedalina” un qualsiasi motore a quattro tempi più grande di 200cc, richiede un rapporto particolare col mezzo in questione. La pedalina deve essere posta in un unico punto preciso prima di sferrare il colpo con la gamba ed il calcio deve essere coordinato con una leggerissima azione sull’acceleratore. Solo una combinazione precisa tra calcio e polso permette l’accensione. Si tratta di un feeling, una specie di mix, un coordinamento gamba polso che si acquisisce e si raffina col tempo, con esercizio e pratica. Un feeling che con i 500cc della mia 525, mi mancava completamente.

Cominciai quindi a scalciare sulla pedala del mio potente mezzo. Un colpo ogni 10 secondi. Nulla. Il 525 non ne volle sapere di dare segni di vita e dopo una trentina di tentativi sentii i primi sintomi di crampo alla gamba destra.

I could barely see anything and slowed down to a crawl. I joined other bikers at a standstill. A few zipped past from behind me but we all had to make our way tentatively through the dust, slowly, unsure of what there was ahead.

The traffic got worse until we all came to a grinding halt in a mega motorcycle jam. What was causing the bottleneck? Of course it was the first test of the day. A steep incline with a slippery surface to ride to the top of.

I looked ahead aghast as I saw bikers fall and machines cartwheel down the slope. I had little time to worry though as at that very same moment my overheated 525 cut out in the middle of bike jam. I pressed the starter button but there was no response. My battery had quit there and then. I had known the battery was on it’s way out for quite some time. It was my fault, I should have replaced the thing before leaving the main land.

Now, perhaps there are many of you who ignore the fact that trying to kickstart a four stroke engine bigger than 200cc is no easy matter. It involves a certain kind of intimacy with the machine you’re dealing with. Kick starting a big bore thumper can be torture if you haven’t mastered the perfect balance and timing between acting on the kick start lever and applying the right amount of twist on the throttle (if any at all). It’s a skill that requires practice and intuition. It’s a balanced set of motions, a bit like a dance, that need to be performed flawlessly to fire up your machine. It’s the sort of coordination and experience I lacked completely with my 525 that day having relied exclusively on the electric starter since purchase.

Guado.jpg
Streams, mud, rock. There's something for everyone

Intanto la coda per la salita avanzò e mi sentii spinto in avanti dagli altri partecipanti ansiosi di proseguire con il percorso. Mi sopraggiunse un senso di disperazione, il mio turno si avvicinava, dovevo essere pronto per tentare la salita, dovevo assolutamente far ripartire la mia moto! Diedi colpo dopo colpo alla pedala ma non v’era nulla da fare. Mancava il connubio giusto: ora troppo acceleratore, poi troppo poco. Ora l’acceleratore era forse giusto ma il colpo al pedale troppo moscio.

Mario, Carlo and Paolo si accorsero del mio dramma. E mi vennero a controllare.

“Andate avanti che vi raggiungo dopo” gli dissi da sotto il casco, fradicio di sudore. Mi dettero qualche pacca sulla spalla e si allontanarono. Gli osservai inerpicarsi ognuno sulla salitona e sparire dietro al dosso. Io intanto, da solo mi ero rimosso dalla fila dei gareggianti e messo in disparte accanto ad un albero. Continuai a dare calci alla pedala come un forsennato in cerca della mia chiave di accesso, la chiave per tornare in gara.

Venni notato da altri enduristi. Qualcuno mi venne incontro. "Problemi con la candela? Problemi elettrici? Sei caduto?"

Sorrisi a tutti mormorando che era tutto sotto controllo, solo una noia che conoscevo bene, che avevo già avuto e che avevo risolte molte volte ...e ...andate a fanculo!

Che altro potevo dire? Ammettere che non sapevo accendere il mio mezzo?!

No, Mai! Sarebbe stata una umiliazione tremenda.

Da continuarsi!

So, I started bouncing on the kick start lever with fury whilst experimenting with varying twists of the throttle. Nothing happened, my 525 gave no signs of life. I insisted for as long as I could, sweating profusely under my riding gear. No luck, and soon I was totally exhausted with no gains or insight on the starting issue at all, just some very sore muscles in my right leg.

In the mean time the queue to the the dreaded hill moved along. Keen riders revved their motors around me. Desperation was sinking in as my turn to chance the incline approached. I had to be ready to ride, I needed to fire my bike up! But the right combination of throttle and lever eluded me. Too much throttle with not enough power on the kick start or vice versa. "For F sake, how hard can it be?!"

Mario, Carlo and Paolo noticed I was in trouble and came over to see.
“You guys ride ahead, I’ll join you later” I yelled from under my helmet.
They acknowledged, gave me a few encouraging slaps on the back and hurried off to their waiting machines. I watched as they clambered to the top of the hill and disappeared.

I extracted myself from the queue and parked up by lonely tree next to the procession of queuing riders . My frantic kick start antics continued. I was noticed by other racers and some came up to me to enquire. Electrical problems? Had I fallen off? Did I want a new spark plug? I smiled at all of them and replied that I was dealing with a known fault on my 525, one that I knew well and had fixed accordingly. Everything was fine I was in control… fuck off!

What else could I say? Admit that I didn’t know how to start the damn thing?
Ohh, the humiliation! No, never!

To be continued!


Thanks for Reading! Please don't forget to Up-Vote, Comment and Resteem. Follow @john-gpr

Sort:  

Like always amazing!!!

Thanks...too kind!

Awesome. I hope I get to ride up in Italy some day! I ride a Beta 390 RRS in Cambodia and it is way too much fun! Great balance between enduro and dual-sporting.

Beta make great machines 👍

...non sapevi riavviare il motore...??! Una vera sega...!!
Bella storia. Aspetto la prossima!

😆....esatto, Marco. Hai capito perfettamente!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95