Why I ride!

in #motorbike6 years ago

Hey everyone,

I've always wanted to do a blog or a video blog on my motorbike and my travels around. I recently got all of the equipment to do so and I thought what better place to post about this then on steem?

So with that, in this post, I'm just going to go over why I started to ride, what bike I ride, why I ride, why it's my absolute passion and then explain what I am going to start doing.

The beginning

When I was younger, around 13-15 I used to get on the back of the bike with my old man. Dad has ridden for around 25 years and I always used to love getting on the back for a spin, So when I turned 17 I just had to get my license.

At this point, I didn't have a car or a license for one, and to be honest, I wasn't even thinking about it at the time, all I wanted to do was get a bike and ride! So in 2011 I set out and got my license and my first bike. It was a Kawasaki Ninja 250 and I just loved it!

ninja_250.jpg

I only had it for about 3 months when I decided to show off to my girlfriend at the time and well it didn't go so well. Being a new rider I managed to lock the front brakes up and got thrown off the side of the bike. I rolled for about 20 meters but luckily I was wearing all the right gear and I wasn't hurt at all.

My bike, however, wasn't so lucky.

nina_blink.jpg
The blinker was ripped off.

ninja_broke.jpg

The fairing were cracked, and the gear stand had actually wrapped its self around the bike stand.

gear.jpg

I had insurance and about 6 weeks later I got my baby back and was ready to ride! I didn't let this crash scare me out of it. I saw it only as a learning curve and I truly believe it made me a better rider.

The new bike

I owned the 250 for 5 years. Then I thought It was time to move on! I wasn't sure what to get, I took many bikes for a test ride ranging from different sizes. A Suzuki GSXR 750, Kawasaki 636, Kawasaki ZX10R and a few others. But the Kawasaki 636 just stood out to me above all others. It was smooth handled like a dream and the power delivery was more than enough for the road.

So, sure, enough I bought this beauty

kawa.jpg

This bike is just the bee's knees. If you are ever looking into a 600cc class go and ride one of these it won't disappoint you one bit.

I have traveled a lot on this bike, A friend of mine and I rode to NSW a 12-hour ride which we did in one day. ( I would not recommend this on a supersport :P ) We went to a little town called torus heads, and it was spectacular.

nse.jpg

Since then I have done many things with this bike, Track days and countless long rides.
In that time the bike has inevitably gotten scratches and stone chips as you would expect. So recently I gave it a makeover.

My old man is pretty good with paintings and what not, so we took it upon ourselves to repaint the bike. It was a lot of work, as the whole bike needed to be stripped down and sanded, Then repainted several times. But then end result was fantastic :P !

00000IMG_00000_BURST20180113131035158_COVER.jpg

I absolutely love the paint job. It is a satin black with the green rims and it is an eye turner! Very unique indeed.

Why do I ride?

I just love it so much, To me when I'm on the bike that right there, that feeling of the wind going all over you, to me that is freedom. I cannot describe it better than freedom.

I saw this post on the internet not long back and I think it is a beautiful summary of why we ride.

bike doc.jpg

There is nothing like it. It's hard to convince people that they should get a bike for the feeling, as they think it's scary or too dangerous. But the truth is once you have experienced a corner at 80Khs on a motorbike, you are instantly addicted. There is no feeling in the world like that one, You become one with the bike.

What am I planning to do?

My plan for the bike and Steem is to create what is called a motorvlogg. This is where I will attach a GoPro to my helmet and film my rides, On top of that whilst filming the rides I will talk about different topics. I'm not 100% sure on the topics just yet, but I am very keen to get it started.

So If you're interested in bikes be sure to follow me and keep an eye out :D

If you got this far thanks so much for reading!

Sort:  

Good read mate. It's an interesting perspective. I always equate motorbikes and danger/recklessness. It's interesting to hear about the more emotional feelings that compel people to ride.

Yeah, It's always the same thing, people say it's dangerous or crazy, and I dont dispute those points of view :P but it is also freedom, It's a truly amazing feeling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56