Final rushing days

in #motorbike5 years ago

6 Days to go, 9 to the start line



naked.jfif

I never would have thought that so many things need to be considered for a project like this. It is not only the bike and physical preparation, but all the arrangements and small things that keep your mind busy: how to get to Poland, paperwork, food and water, camping gear, tools, clothes, etc.

Rally build

Perhaps call it "build" is too ambitious, as I only made some minor changes to the bike:

  • Navigation equipment mounted on handlebar clamps.
  • Michelin Bib Mousse. Not only one thing less to worry about (punctures), but less tools to carry with me.
  • Replaced the stock light with a brighter led bulb (direct replacement).
  • Extra lights with its own battery. It will be used only for the night stage.
  • Exhaust protector. I am not completely sure it is needed, but it was cheap so I decided to install it.
  • And the normal maintenance: Chain and sprockets, oil, filters, etc.

Finally I discarded the idea of installing an auxiliary tank to extend autonomy and decided to go with the stock 7.6L one. Mainly because they are stupidly expensive. The minimum autonomy for the Breslau Rally is 130Km (+10% recommended), so it is going to be tight... I hope I won't get lost too often :).

roadbook.jfif

Logistics

The main reason to decided for Breslau over other rallies was simply that it is easier and cheaper for me to get there. No ferries, no issues with the insurance and doable in one (long) journey. Also, we now own a small van and the bike just fits inside! I don't even need a trailer :).

The downside is that I need to either leave the motorbike outside to have room for my wonderful camp bed, or sleep in the camping tent.

Financial

Probably the hardest and most unexpected part of this adventure. My initial budget was way too optimist leaving out a lot of stuff I hadn't even thought of.
There are the obvious costs: registration fee, refreshing the bike, parts, tools, petrol and -being this my first "serious" race- the investment in good navigation instruments. And then all the hidden or unplanned expenses: camping gear, nutrition and hydration, insurance, mandatory GPS, extra lights for the night stage, new protections and equipment...
A small fortune.

Now I understand why people try to get sponsors, even small help from local businesses is a relieve for amateurs riders.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54