Evil Knievel - Legend

in #motocross7 years ago

Legend is a term which is thrown around far to easily in the modern world... No other word can describe this man to me though.

If you have never seen the film i came across it on youtube and trust me its great :)

I grew up watching this film over and over again haha! I grew up playing with the Evil Knievel wind up bike! That poor toy suffered countless crashes, many more than Evil himself which is a feat in itself!

When i look back at this it makes me feel like a dinosaur haha... truth hurts i guess :)

In 1977 Evel Knievel made the fictional movie about himself to show the life he lead, from showground to show business. This guy was used to riding bikes and jumping things that had never been done before. Sure his acting skills were mediocre at best but that wasn't the draw of the film, it was him!

This guy was the birth of modern motocross, freestyle MX and Supercross! The guy is a complete legend!

How the hell did he jump things on a Harley Davidson! I mean those things were HEAVY and had nothing like the suspension we have nowadays! Not just that but check the engine! It's MASSIVE.

I came accross something online that i had not even thought about for years, that crazy stratocycle from the film! I saw it had gone on ebay and im not surprised its a crazy and unique bike!

Here is the original registration card!

I remember the part on the film when Evil crashes into the lunatic asylum to rescue his friend and mechanic who was played by Gene Kelly :)

Such a 70s design haha but iconic to Evil Kneivel.

This bike sold on ebay for $200,000! wow
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Evel-Knievel-screen-used-XLCH-1000-Eagle-034-Stratocycle-034-from-Viva-Kni-Lot-1374-/111760485439?nma=true&si=Hl%252FFVv9JLvs%252FszQLrQQ66RrDnHM%253D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

I also found out there was a toy version of it as well! Gutted haha i would've loved this to go with my other Evil bike!

Evil Knievel, for all his demons still remains one of my childhood heros and I'm sure he means the same to many many more.

Thank you for capturing the hearts of so many people. I have looked up to you since i was a kid.

Thank you buddy and RIP.

Sort:  

Yeh certainly a true legend! Never actually got round to watching the film but that goes for so many others as well, will give this one a watch. Thanks!

to be honest, check out his stunts. They are out of this world.... you wouldn't want to do them on a modern MX bike let alone a harley! :o

The Stratocycle hahaha
weren't the seveties awesome?

I was born in the mid 70s but so much cool stuff came out! Star Wars... say no more :)

.....
hahaha

A man can fall many times in life, but he's never a failure until he refuses to get back up.

-Evel Knievel-

so true :-)

Touching story! Everyone has personal heroes! You reminded me of some of my own!

Nice man :) good memories! Nothing comes close to these

Anybody can jump a motorcycle. The trouble begins when you try to land it.

-Evel Knievel-

I did watch a documentary about him, what a legend, thank you for posting !!

You know it mate!

Oh, Again a great article from you. Nice to know about this legend. The "STRATOCYCLE" is Cool, Man.
Keep informing us about biking through your great articles.

Thank you @whiteblood, glad you enjoyed it :)
That is one crazy bike isn't it! One of a kind

I wish i have one like "STRATOCYCLE".

You need to save your steem up then :) it sold for $200k

I'm not able to earn much money in steemit. I don't know why?

Probably we should pear up up and like each others things look of me

Thanks Dear.

I'm evil and I like this

haha nice one @hotandrandom :)

I already watched it before and really the word legend is good for this guy

Its great :) I dread to think how many times i have watched this film haha

lol
it's really interesting and a man never get bored with it

That is one beauty of a bike.
RIP Evil Knievel

It certainly is one of a kind mate.
is that joey essex in your pic? haha

The one and only haha

Rip..tnx for posting...
please follow me

please follow me

Very cool. Thanks for sharing :-)

Super cool in my view :) Thanks @lichtblick

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74