Christophe Pourcel calls it a day

in #motocross6 years ago

pourcel.jpg

It has been a challenging year for Christophe Pourcel, he started it off riding with Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing in Supercross but then the choice was made to send him over to Canada. This was due to a bad start in Supercross which did not see him place higher than 15th.

The move turned out to be a master stroke as he won five rounds and even challenged for the title, missing out by just five points!

poourcel2.jpg

Now the former world champion has announced that he will be calling it a day and retiring from professional racing. He announced it on social media yesterday.

pourcel1.jpg

Christophe Pourcel

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing

"Well, today is the day, I am pleased to announce my retirement from racing. It’s all I’ve ever known, but I have been so blessed and fortunate to race all around the world in front of many fans and to work with many great companies. From racing GP’s, winning a world championship, then coming to America, two super cross championships, winning races... and now finding a new life here in the states, racing has given me so much. Those good times don’t come without tough times, from my paralyzing accident in 2007, internal injuries, countless collar bones, to my most recent neck fractures... I’ve had my fair share of injuries but I’m happy to walk away happy and healthy. I’m looking forward to the next chapter of my life away from racing. I’ve sacrificed so much in life, things that are normal for most people, to dedicate my life to racing and training. I want to enjoy this time now with my wife, family, and friends and to say THANK YOU to all the great people and companies that have supported me throughout my career and to the fans who have enjoyed watching me race. It’s been a tough decision, I know I can still be competitive but my body has said enough with the injuries!! I’m 29 and have so much more life to live. Again thank you all and see you around!! ✌🏼"

porcel3.jpg

It's never a happy sight to see but he is retiring for the right reasons. I wish him the best luck in the world and im sure he will be successful in whatever he decides to do next.

Thank you for the good times Christophe.


Follow me for #factorysteemit and motocross news!

b0y2k

Sort:  

Great and beautiful post b0y2k

there comes a time when one has to choose another path, he was a great biker and an inspiration to many.

you know it @joendegz, you could kinda see it in his riding in the early supercross rounds. Great rider and sad to see him go.

Omg, that second picture is just amazing.
Nice clicks, Thanks for sharing.

these guys can sure ride @smartgeek!

wow ! fantastic motorcycle ride .. don't worry @b0y2k, i pray,you success in your ride....have a great day..

Thank you @robert31 :) you too mate

keep up the good job. i wish, you success in your ride.best of luck.
i followed you and upvoted ...

Christophe Pourcel is another great champion that will quit is a pitty but life goes on and he leaves a great legacy :)

hopefully his returning will help for the team.

hes leaving the sport @sheikh27 :(

great jump photo!

great shots eh @ssekulji :)

I heard form web he is a talented rider.

He is very good @madushanka, shame to see him go.

wow amazing..super

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95