Knowledge is Truly Power

in #motivational6 years ago (edited)

Someone said this to me some days ago,  "knowledge is power" and honestly it touched a part of me that hasn't surfaced in a long time.  It may be unrelated but it did the trick.  I've always heard the saying but never really gave it much of a thought.  


Learning and acquiring more knowledge has been part of me but lately,  I've been so focused on sharing the knowledge I have that I forgot that to remain relevant in this world,  one has to learn more,  acquire more knowledge. 

I try to expand my scope of knowledge but the thing is as a doctor, when you are seen learning software programming or reading up something on quantum physics, the reaction you get from people is just weird. I think I remember someone telling me to concentrate on medicine and forget about all that shit, forgetting that medicine has evolved to involve software programs in analysis of lab tests results,  and other diagnostic tools. It has gotten to the point where there is need to develop body imaging machines that don't rip out any metal embedded in your body (as in Magnetic Resonance imaging) or hit you with a lot of radiation each time imaging is done (as in X-rays and Computer tomography)  hence the quantum physics.


When you look at the world at large and consider the possibilities,  you start to realize how much you need to know.  Take an individual being harassed by a policeman without probable cause; if that individual fully knows his rights,  he would quote the law or sue the policeman after the altercation. Unfortunately this happens a lot in my country,  Nigeria.  Innocent people are afraid of the police. This is mainly because they do not know their rights.  Knowledge gives you power.  Knowing your rights gives you the courage to stand your ground when you know you did not commit a crime. 

A sick person goes to the doctor and gets diagnosed.  Drugs are prescribed and the patient blindly takes the prescription and subsequently takes the drugs without asking what the drugs are for and what exactly he or she is being treated for. Understanding the sickness makes the person understand the reason for the particular drugs being prescribed.  Understanding the possible side effects of the drugs makes a person prepared for the side effects and take appropriate steps to prevent or manage them. 


Finally Steemit.  A lot of people do not know about opportunities like this. Some of them due to ignorance,  some due to lack of access to internet connection while some other refuse to leave their comfort zone.  I was the latter who saw and signed up on steemit while surfing the net but refused to use it because "it was out of my comfort zone". 


That statement, "knowledge is power" rekindled the part of me that works really hard,  steps out of my comfort zone frequently,  taking risks  that are definitely worth it. It was just a comment that inspired me and the best I can do for myself is to open my mind wide and accept and stuff it with knowledge because I do not want to feel powerless anymore. 

Above all we need to know that knowledge can only be power if you use the knowledge you have acquired.  Knowledge without use is like having a billion dollars and still be poor.  When you get a degree and do not use it,  rats use it as their daily bread. 

So  to @eggmeister , thanks. Your comment inspired this. 

Don't Forget to leave a COMMENT,  UPVOTE AND RESTEEM. 

THANKS FOR READING! 

Sort:  

Powerful thought!

Thanks for this reminder, knowledge is power for sure. The knowledge of steemit is the beginning of financial power😂 @stanleyc-md

Hello @stanleyc-md, I'm very happy that just a simple (yet underlyingly powerful) phrase that spawned from my keyboard has had such a dramatic effect on you.

An excellent post and very worthy of a resteem :)

Thanks bro

You're welcome :)

I enjoy your posts Stanley. And I agree knowledge is really power. Keep on accumulating that all that knowledge. It would serve you in ways you can't even imagine.

Am looking forward to see your progress from Steemit minnow to whale. Keep it up bro.

Upvoted, resteemed.

Thanks a lot bro

Knowledge is really power.it reminds me of my Secondary School Motto.Knowledge Is Power.Thanks

Powerful messages and quotes. Thank you for sharing.

@stevenmosoes

Thanks for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61426.96
ETH 3441.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51