THIS I know...5 HUGE Realisations of Life!

in #motivational8 years ago


Some call it epiphanies.

The realisations that filter into our consciousness. At times, dramatically.

And at times, in whispers. Gathering in strength and conviction.

Here are 5 of mine...


1. Where attention goes, energy follows  

If I keep thinking about something too much, ALL my energy goes into it. 

Which means I don't have sufficient energy for other aspects of my life. That would suck!

Eg if I focus on things of the past, I may get sad, upset or even happy and then, I don't have the interest or energy to get on with what I need to do in the present. 

To avoid that, I pay attention to my ATTENTION.... And re-focus when I need to.


2. We are only in competition with ourselves, not others

We cannot control others or affect anyone else's ability, skills or capabilities (unless we are teaching them something). 

But we can help ourselves. We can improve ourselves. 

Even if it's a tiny improvement each day. 

No point competing with anyone else. 

Just with yourself. Just to improve a little every day.


3. To improve your willpower, use your "won't power"

I notice that if I have to make a lot of good choices through willpower, it becomes harder to do so as the day goes by. 

Fascinating research by Dr Roy S. Baumeister here.

Eg, if I want to exercise in the evening, I have to make sure I don't need to make other "tough but good" choices earlier in the day. No choosing between a healthy meal and not-so healthy one, 

No choosing whether to buy an item just for fun or save the money.

If I did...by evening, I would be too tired to do anything but chill in front of the TV. No willpower left for exercise.

The way I conserve my WILLpower is by making sure I use my WON'T power, I choose not to choose.

By getting food catered in so I don't need to choose what to eat.

By choosing not to hang out at the shopping mall fighting the urge to buy something. 

Then, when it's time to work out in the evening, I am not tired out from exercising my willpower all day long.


4. People generally take their cues on how to treat you, FROM YOU

You have definitely seen this in action. In school, college, work, life.

We call it charisma, an innate sense of authority. 

Some people exude it. 

Seemingly seamlessly.

Others don't seem to have a clue. 

It stems from a deep sense of self-esteem and self-respect. 

When someone has it, no matter what their external circumstances and status in life, they carry themselves with dignity. 

It comes from within.

Confidence, self-acceptance, certainty.

Cultivate these and watch your charisma rock the world!


5. Old friends are precious

I recently got back in touch with friends I had lost touch with for decades. 

Good friends from university.

We spent years together supporting one another through good times and bad. 

Somehow the years came in between and we lost touch. Life went on.

Then a few months ago, a chance meeting galvanised us. Drew us in again.

It was like we had never been apart. Old stories and new ones tumbling together.

Such richness, variety and abundance.

And tons of fun. 

It's great to have friends, especially old friends who have known you when you were younger.

Who love you still!

They let you relive crazy times. Yet keep you grounded.


So that's it. My 5 HUGE ones....what are yours?


Sort:  

Very pleased about old friends,I think that friends doesn't happen much
and if there is at least one you are already happy person!
Good luck to all.

great content thank you for sharing what you have learnt with us

Good list...

That is a nice post. Thank you.

I liked the the third point of "won't power". Love your family would be one I would add.

Also I created a motivational post for the ones who are feeling down https://steemit.com/motivational/@dev/feeling-a-bit-frustrated-i-think-you-are-a-dark-knight-here-is-how-i-prove-it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35