Curiosity killed the cat?

in #motivational6 years ago

Do you remember the time when you were a kid, so curious?
Or maybe when you were a teenager, always wanting to defy your parents and go against their wishes?
Or maybe now, you see your kids defying your ‘commands’ and instructions like a soldier that has gone rogue.
We always say that curiosity killed the cat.
So how did curiosity killed the cat?

The phrase “Curiosity Killed the Cat” came from a play by Ben Jonson, Every Man in His Humor. The original phrase was “Care will kill a cat, tails up all and a louse for the dead man. But then, a cat has 9 lives. So the phrase evolved to “Care killed the cat, it’s said that a cat has nine lives, but care would wear them all down.” In this, the “care’ meant worry and sorrows, thus care will wear down a cat’s nine lives.
Those were in the ancient times where plays were the blockbusters of modern times.

But today, let me share with you what this cat means to me.
When we were younger, our parents told us to not touch a kettle of boiling of boiling water, as it is hot. However, how would we know what hot feels like?
As kids, we have this inbuilt nature to be interested in everything and anything. I learned this, not because I have a kid, and my memory is far too poor to bring me back to where I was a kid.
Recently adopted a puppy and he resembled a kid. Someone presses the bell, he’s standing behind the door waiting to see what’s coming. When the kettle whistle, he’s standing there trying to touch the kettle. It’s this curiosity of his that makes him who he is and what he experiences.

But in the modern day, we are so overprotective that I see my nephew and nieces being so sheltered. “Boy, don’t touch that, it’s dirty.” “Girl don’t go near the dog, the dog will lick you and it’s dirty.”

Are we robbing our future generations of trying and experimenting?

I believe when Benjamin Franklin flew a kite on a thunderous, wet rainy day didn’t consult his parents about it. But it was his curiosity that gave us the gift of electricity to power millions of home, the electricity that he founded to power our phones and the electricity that he founded to power our cars.

So when was the last time you stopped someone from trying something?
Have we ever asked ourselves if we rob them of this opportunity to learn, this opportunity to experience something different and this opportunity that can bring them greater knowledge?

When I first started trading forex, my dad stopped me due to his experience being burnt by the market. However, little did he know that I watch the markets and trade with enough margin to make a decent living.
10 years ago, as a polytechnic student, I was raking in close to 1.6k per month on good months and sometimes up to a thousand a week. So after forex, I went on to cryptocurrencies.

And at dinner yesterday, my dad told me, take ten thousand and go do your thing. Do some trades and hopefully makes some money back.

Ladies and gentlemen, the cat I have been talking is the opportunity that everyone has a living human being.
We are brought to this earth, in this place to learn something.
Definitely, there are some risks that we have taken, which have not turn out so well. But in everything we try, there’s always something that we will take away from it.

Here’s the rejoinder to the phrase of curiosity killed the cat. Satisfaction brought it back. I bet some of you didn’t know this.

So what is this satisfaction?

To be, this satisfaction is the gaining of knowledge, gaining of experience and gaining of insights about what I tried.
If I didn’t try, I wouldn’t know what will happen. However, if I tried, I will learn something from it.

So when was the last time you tried something for the very first time?
When was the last time you said to yourself, “Today isn’t wasted! I learned something new?”

Take a look around you right now, do we have as many inventions as before?
Are Nobel prizes given out every single year for outstanding discoveries as compared to times of the past?

To me, there’s anyway no harm in trying.
I can accept failure, but I cannot accept not trying.

Would you want to be the cat that is killed by care (Sorrows and worry) or be the cat that was killed by curiosity and satisfaction that brought it back?

I urge you, to not put on your thinking caps, but put on your trying shoes.

Try something new, try something you are afraid of.

Because being in your comfort zone, you are missing all the magic.
failure.jpg

Sort:  

Inspiring post. Sometime, the best way to learn is to go through the school of hard knocks.

Hi !!
Nice to meet you! We are currently trying to create a Steemit community for fellow Singaporeans.
Inspired by what other countries had done (teamaustralia, teammalaysia, etc), a community will help Singapore Steemians to grow together. We can share ideas, collaborate efforts and learn from each other.
If you are interested, feel free to join this newly created Facebook group and unite together! https://www.facebook.com/groups/steemsingapore/
Hope to see you participate in this community! #teamsingapore

Congratulations @jordentan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01