The hypocrisy of "wanting"

in #motivational6 years ago

Sup Steem punks and Steem princesses!


We all have things that we "want" or that we "want to do", but how bad do we really want these things?


As a performing musician I always heard people say things like " I wish I could learn to play guitar" or "I want to do what you do!" and it had me thinking..do these people really want this? If they do, how far are they willing to go to get there?.. I have things I want to do as well.... but do I want it bad enough to actively work toward the goal?

Image source
A lot of people want reward without sacrifice or work. We look at the end of the tunnel and dont think about the process that it takes to get somewhere. In my case, I spent years in school studying music on paper. I worked in the music industry as a recording engineer and producer while performing for 8 years. I began doing show management and artist management and did that for 5 years. These things all lead up to where I was in my career. I worked hard to get there and I was so thirsty for my goal that nothing would stand in my way.

image source

It is a problem within yourself.

If we want the things we desire we need to make goals and actually achieve them. Talk is cheap. Action is everything. We can accomplish the things we dream about doing. Almost nothing stands in our way. We just need to get the self motivation to take steps.

Sort:  

The ego "WANTS" and can never be satisfied - just ask Bernie Maddoff or Tiger Woods.
The Authentic Self, that is - who we are behind our masks, only "NEEDS"
So the question to ask ourselves is "Do I want, or do I need, this or that?"
One answer can come from the insatiable ego, the other from a deeper sense of self.
Which one will you choose?
I also don't subscribe to - " working hard" but much prefer to "Work smarter"
And finally, the best "work" is to follow our passion, our hearts and intuition.
Great post @johnroomusic - thanks for you contribution.

Great wisdom here! Love it! Thanks for reaching out with this.

Just a reflection of you John, thank you

I've been in the writing / publishing industry nearly all my adult life. As a published author, writing coach, and novel writing consultant, I too hear SO MANY voices saying "I wish I..." Or "I would like to..." Or "I want to..." But like you said, do they want it badly enough to relentlessly go after it? For most, the answer is no, they do not.

I cannot begin to count all the dead ends, slammed doors, rejections, and plain old bummer experiences I've had throughout the years. But my saying was this: "I didn't get in to get out. I got in to stay." And I have stayed. Thanks for sharing these truths, @johnroomusic!

That is how I feel. A lot of people say that they want something soooo bad.... but if they aren't actively trying to make it happen, they do not really want it as much as they claim. Thanks for your input! Super glad that you could share your wisdom!

Somewhere I heard it takes 10000 hours to Master something and about 2000 hours just to be okay at it. Most people don't even become good at things because they don't put in the work. My goal this year is to improve my golf game, too bad there isn't 2000 hours for that!

hahah yea I suppose 2000 hours of golf is a pretty tough one to achieve. Yea I have heard this saying before though. I find it to be true. Mastery isn't a walk in the park.

This post has received a 2.72 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @johnroomusic.

You just planted 0.18 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johnroomusic

We have planted already 4475.47 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25648.37
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92