Procrastination been a great barrier to success...

in #motivational6 years ago

Most of us have two lives. The life we live, and the unlived life within us.
For the fifth day in a row, I sit in front of the computer screen and write nothing. Not a paragraph. Not a sentence. Not a word.
However, today I’ll give it a better go.
I take a few deep breaths and start on my pre-writing routines. I make an espresso, put on my headphones, and start listening to my Apple playlist for writing, which includes neoclassical albums, Yann Tiersen, Federico Albanese, and Zimmer’s Inception. I then light up a short cigar and take a few puffs, just till my fingers find the keyboard.
I finally write a few sentences, but my rush of inspiration ends just as quickly as it started, and I lose my focus.
I check my phone, then my email, and within a few minutes I’m chasing one link after another till I find myself on YouTube listening to an interview with bestselling author Steven Pressfield. In it, he talks about his book, The War of Art, and how we unconsciously block ourselves from doing our work.
These last two months, while battling physical pain from a broken leg, I’ve written just enough to get me through my MFA’s program requirements, postponing much of the heavy work for later. I’ve relied on old writings and a few “cheat” infographic posts to honor my promise of a weekly blog.
Last week, the doctor told me that I’m progressing well with my broken leg, but that I still have another six weeks on crutches. ...Concluding part coming soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58679.85
ETH 2304.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45