Climb that mountain : Acrophobia destroyed

in #motivational6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, I'm so excited to inform you guys that I've overcomed acrophobia (fear of heights). I've always had this fear, maybe because of something that happened when I was little I'm not sure but I realized I was acrophobic. I don't bother climbing high places, using stair cases detached from the house is a real job for me, yes it's that bad. If I eventually climb a high place, I always feel I'm gonna fall. But last week, I did something to break that fear.

I went mountaineering. Yes, I know that's s giant step but I did it. What happened was that my friend has always persuaded me to come along but I kept declining the offer. First of, I don't like outdoor activities, I prefer staying indoors all day long. Secondly, it was mountain climbing 😱 .
IMG-20180427-WA0008.jpg

But I summoned courage and I decided to join him last week. Actually it's a group of people that partake in outdoor activities. The name is Tha'Outdoor Tribe (TOT). We drove about 20km outside of town to Orizo area of Nassarawa state, Nigeria, Africa, World 🌍.

After welcoming newbies and telling us the safety tips we need to know, we started the climb. I was told it was gonna be fun but it wasn't exactly fun. For one of the first things I had to do was climb a sloppy part of the mountain. It wasn't easy, damn. After a while, I was really exhausted and I left my water bottle by the car, obviously below the mount.
IMG-20180428-WA0015.jpg

After some ups and ups, no downs yet because we were still climbing, I could see the summit of the hill, I could see the peak, the zenith and my heart leaped for joy but I was still thirsty. My mouth was dry but come to think of it, I was part of the first 10 people leading the way.

Finally, we got there, ✌. I would be lying if I say I was thrilled, not that I was disappointed or something but it's just this thing that happens to me. After putting so much work into achieving something, when I finally make it, I'll just lose the excitement. I wonder if I'm the only one this happens to. Well, on top of the mount, I stood and looked around. O man, it was a great site and I regretted not climbing with my phone but I was concerned it might drop as I can't bare even the thought of that.
IMG-20180428-WA0009.jpg

That about rounds it up. I leant some lessons from this trip.

  1. I actually enjoy outdoor activities and I should do them often.
  2. I can do almost anything, I just have not done them. No such thing as too difficult or impossible.
  3. Fear is just a cage we build and furnish for ourselves so we won't have to leave our comfort zone.

My advice to my reader,

Whatever it is you have been wanting to do but avoiding for one reason or the other, step out now and do it. Make that call now, send that text, talk to that person, send that apology, apply for that job, live that life, make that decision, and finally, CLIMB THAT MOUNTAIN!!! ☺

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I would be lying if I say I was thrilled, not that I was dissapointed or something but it's just this thing that happens to me.
It should be disappointed instead of dissapointed.

Okay bot, well done and thank you

Congratulations @fearless97! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fearless97 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72