What's your biggest passion? Mine?: Music! "How Led Zeppelin got me into playing guitar"

in #motivational8 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, i just wanted to share a little thought.

I think life gets more meaning when we are passionate about something. It makes you want to get up everyday and achieve something meaningful. I found mine around the time i was 11 years old.

Back then i remember spending time in my aunt's house after school. My aunt would take care of me while my mom was shopping or something. I spend most of my time in her bedroom watching tv while she was cooking or talking to my mom and my other aunts, or just doing stuff. There i was watching tv, just zapping through the channels while at some point, i would come across a channel named Mtv. This channel was about music videos. I remember paying special attention to this two: "Like a stone" by Audioslave and "With you" by Avril lavigne.
Both 2002 hits. I liked those two songs, really much.

Those are the firt two songs i can remember that i liked a lot, enough to listen to then everyday on the same channel, just hoping for the moment that video was on the screen again. They made me feel like just wishing to unleash my emotions, it was hypnotizing, and i enjoyed it very much. That was the first time i felt connected with music, at least as i can remember. I started to pay more attention to music, the way it made me feel. How it made me imagine things, memories, ideas, dreams, all out of the notes i was hearing in my head.

So i just kept listening.
Searching for more music that could made me feel like that. I developed a taste in rock and blues, and soon i found this:

It was unbelievably good, the best thing i had hear so far. I loved every minute of it and still do!

I wondered how is that you can create something like that with strings on a guitar. Soon as i had my first guitar in my hands i tried to made it sound like Jimmy Page made his guitar sound in that album. I tried to copy every note, every sound. I didn't know what i was doing. I failed terribly in trying to sound like that. Like i said i didn't know what i was doing. I didn't know what chords were, what scales were, didn't know anything about music but only that i liked it.

So i started reading magazines, watching videos, hearing the songs over and over again, all in order to play like Jimmy Page. And with time i learned, enough to recognize a song or two in the noise i was making. And with time it was less noise, and more like i was actually playing a song. And i still learning that way, hearing myself and trying new ways to sound how i want to sound. Getting "better", getting closer to what i want to hear. Is a process i think never ends and that's why i love to play guitar so much, i have something new to achieve everyday.

Here i am playing a fragment of the live version of Black Dog in How The West Was Won:
https://www.instagram.com/p/BCq-lqLKGfX/?taken-by=eddy.cr_

Later in my collage years i started to like jazz too.
Here i am trying to improvise a little:

I'll like to know how many of you steemit musicians are out there and which were your first influences.
If your not that into music, i'll like to know what's your passion. What moves you everyday?

Music. Listening to music. Playing music. Making music. I want to do this all my life and that's why i think that music is my passion. Is something that makes me happy and makes me want to achieve something greater everyday.

Thank you for your attention, i'll be happy reading about you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51