The best me I can be

in #motivation6 years ago

I’m not interested if people think I’m nice, sexy, skinny, mumsy, good enough.....or not.
For 32 years I’ve been a crowd pleaser- doing everything for everyone, totally neglecting myself.
Funny thing is- that I only learnt that after caring 24/7 for little people.
I’ve learnt that I’m expecting certain behaviours of children and that my reaction shapes, whether they have earned my attention and praise or not. (I work in childcare and have two of my own also)
Through this reflection, I come to discover that I’m done with approval. Hence, I can proudly disclaim, that all my efforts towards self improvement come purely from me wanting to feel good- and happy.
This, automatically makes others around me feel better too. So, my contribution to fixing the world is to be the best “me” that I can be- for my own selfish reasons.
I don’t want to woo a men or woman,please my parents, my boss or society- with the way I act, think and look. I just love feeling good and feeling deserving of self generated well being and endorphins without waiting for unfulfilled expectations.EB9CC185-E15B-4914-8F2A-5F9DD6325321.jpeg

Sort:  

Yes @zenmum!

I think you were right on point with this statement:

I can proudly disclaim, that all my efforts towards self improvement come purely from me wanting to feel good- and happy.
This, automatically makes others around me feel better too. So, my contribution to fixing the world is to be the best “me” that I can be- for my own selfish reasons.

I fully resonate with that and that's exactly how I feel too.

I think you might enjoy my recent article based on what I've read here:

3 Inspiring Reasons Why You Should Say "No!" More Often

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Thank you will check it out

Thanks for yur good posts, I followed you!

Thank you xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64242.18
ETH 3496.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50