Runner's Diaries: January

in #motivation7 years ago (edited)

"We all have dreams. In order to make dreams come into reality, it takes an awful lot of determination, dedication, self-discipline and effort." - Jesse Owens

14272250_1749965401926074_574881082_n.jpg

The picture above was taken in 2016, August, when I endured one of my most difficult runs to this day. It was a 21.1km trail run. The trail was mostly downhill. They loaded us into mini buses and drove us up the top of the Du Toit's Pass near Paarl, Western Cape in South Africa. To say it was chilly up there is an understatement. I've never shivered so much in my life. The following smile is very much forced and I can't feel anything from my shoulders down. Yet, it was probably the best run I've ever done.

14145411_1748452662071317_725872284_n.jpg

In December 2017, I made a very big decision. To some, a crazy decision. I am planning to do my first full marathon in 2018, on the 7th of July. Naturally, I've started training already, even though I'm about a month too early according to my training schedule. I'm planning to write these running diaries to document my progress and thoughts during these next 6 months. I'm truly very excited to be taking on a challenge like this. The road will be difficult, but I intend to pick myself up, dust myself off, and keep running. There's something about running until you cannot go anymore... I guess it's knowing you can go to bed, get up, and do it all again.

Untitled.png

CHALLENGE TO YOU: Start researching any 5km, 10km, 21.1km and 42.2km runs coming up in your area within the next months. Enter the race. Just doing that is taking a huge step in your fitness journey. Anyone can do it, and it's as simple as starting with the first kilometer. Just do it.

"I regret that run." said no one ever.

Sort:  

Very good post!!!! And also, very good decision indeed!
Marathon is another " Dimension ". You will enjoy and remember forever.
Keep on running!

It sounds like you've visited that dimension xD will give your blog a peek. Thanks :)

hahahhah! yes, you are right... a few times :-)

This is quite an inspiring post.
Looking at these pictures I'm certain you'll be able to do it.
WCGW?!
Looking forward to see your journey.

Why thank you, kind sir.

Great decision, the road towards the marathon can be rough sometimes but it's totally worth it. I'll follow your progress ;)

Thank you, will keep that in mind :)

Best of luck with your training! I’ve been there before and it’s scary, hard, painful, but oh so rewarding when you cross that finish line! You got this!!!

I hope I make it xD thank you!

Hi fellow runner, you have a very promising blog. Also your Runner's diary looks promising!, so, of course you are ''qualified'' to be an ''Approved'' Runner in the @runningproject curation list.

So, please, transfer either 1 steem or 1 SBD as ''enrollment fee'' to @runningproject and start getting upvotes from the pool (right know growing) everytime you post interesting running stuff using #running as one of the post tags.

Let me know if you have any problem doing so!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52