"There is one big piece that is missing – my education"

in #motivation7 years ago (edited)

Dear Social Hackers Academy:
It was very nice to meet you and discuss this opportunity with you. First let me thank you on behalf of the refugee community for your commitment to helping us.
As you know, I am seeking asylum. My country is controlled by a very oppressive Muslim government. I did not believe in or follow the fanatic religion of my country, which made things quite difficult for me. Even though I disagreed with the religious fanaticism in my country, I felt a responsibility to serve our people in the military. I even tried unsuccessfully to join before the minimum age. While I was waiting to reach the minimum age, I injured my knee playing football. My injury prevented me from serving in the military, so I was ordered to perform community service. However, I realized that this mandatory service in my country was only a way to brainwash people into becoming fanatic Muslims. I refused to go through this brainwashing. In my country, to get a job or attend university, you must obtain a certificate showing that you have completed this service. So, since I could not serve in the military and I refused the civil service because of the fanatic religious practices they required, they would not give me this certificate. I was unable to go to university or get a job.
LHR org-MaroVerli..jpg
I want to use the computer programming skills from Social Hackers Academy to continue to help other people. I look at my life like a puzzle but there is one big piece that is missing – my education. This program will open up opportunities that are not currently available to me so that I can continue to help people.
I first became interested in becoming a Web developer in my country when I saw a Ted Talks presentation about technology. It was very interesting to me how one can communicate so easily with the entire world by using technology. However, due to the pressure of my family, I went into metalworking. However, this was never my passion. But now I have the freedom to choose what interests me and do what I believe God is calling me to do. So, I don’t think it is any coincidence that I found out about your program. Regarding my background with computers, although I do not have any programming experience, I am very proficient using a computer including Microsoft Word and PowerPoint.
No one in my family has ever gone to school beyond high school. So, in addition to helping other people in the world through the skills you will teach me, I know that my family will be greatly encouraged to hear that I have been accepted into your program. Please realize my family lives in a country where very little encouragement ever comes. Lastly, I want you to know that I will commit whatever time is required to be successful in your program and I know that your investment in me will be multiplied back to many others who I have the opportunity to help in the future.
Thank you for considering my application.
Very respectfully,
A prospective student.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.55
ETH 2482.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38