Find Happiness Helping Others

in #motivation6 years ago

we-rise-by-lifting-others-quote-1.jpg

There is usually a time in the life of every human, where irrespective of what one possesses, happiness seem faraway.
I have seen a happy poor man and I have seen a sad rich man. Some people will tell you happiness is a state of the mind and in fact being happy in the little things counts more than the big ones.

Some hit the jackpots and are only happy for a day. In the process of being joyous, they do things that they later regret, especially when too much booze is involved. Many times, some say they are trying to end their sorrow by taking a drink or two, only to have the forgetful moment being short-lived.

There is a natural human experiment I have tried out and it has worked over and over again. At times when I feel down and sad, times when those things that naturally excite, do not anymore, I pick myself up and instead of doing things for myself, I do for others.

Now this is the trick, most times, I prefer to help those who I may never see again and I am sure they may never be able to repay. This is what brings me joy - their smiles. How much it means to them knowing their prayers just got answered by a random stranger. I have many fine memories of smiles in my photographic memory.

Mos times after doing this, directly or indirectly, I find my happiness back. Indeed, we rise by lifting others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72