What Millennials Can Learn From Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

in #motivation7 years ago

While scrolling through the hundreds of channels of absolute shit on the TV last night, I noticed that Chitty Chitty Bang Bang was coming up.


Image Source

For those of you who did not grow up in the 60's & 70's, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang was one of those movies you were allowed to watch by your parents growing up.

Some, including my wife, had the soundtrack on a vinyl album as a child.

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang was more "edgy" than The Sound of Music.

I hadn't seen the film in decades although bits of the title song occasionally wander through my head; I can't explain that.

While I knew it was one of those Dick Van Dyke films (like Mary Poppins, Lt. Robin Crusoe USN, etc.) I was absolutely flabbergasted (not to be confused with Flubber, the miracle invention of Fred MacMurray in the 1961 Disney film The Absent Minded Professor) to find out that Chitty Chitty Bang Bang: The Magical Car was the work of Ian Fleming of James Bond fame.

The screenplay credits include Roald Dahl who wrote James & the Giant Peach and Charlie & the Chocolate Factory (probably better known as Willie Wonka & the Chocolate Factory because, well, who reads books anymore?).

I will also point out here that I refuse to watch the remakes of films where Eddie Murphy, Robin Williams, Johnny Depp and the like put their "artistic" interpretation on the screen.

Leave the classics alone.

I also noticed quite a few character actors in Chitty who also appeared in later Albert Broccoli Bond films and achieved some notoriety on their own.

Gert Fröbe who played Auric Goldfinger in the Bond film, Goldfinger.

Benny Hill who went on to become, Benny Hill.

Desmond Llewelyn who played "Q" in the classic Bond films.

And, I was shocked to find out that Julie Andrews was not in the film.

But there came a point, during the musical number, The Roses of Success, where I realized that there are some serious things missing from today's perfect little snowflake society.


Nobody is willing to Fail!!!!!!

Everyone needs that participation trophy and to feel that they're winners.

Yay, you're a winner, you're a winner, you're a winner, everyone wins!

Our society has managed to produce a generation of people who aren't willing to take a chance if it means there's a possibility that they might, GASP, FAIL.

If they fail, they'll be crushed.

How will they ever recover?

What has happened to the drive to succeed and overcome so perfectly voiced by Irv Favre:

You better never come off that field.
If you get hurt, and you can’t walk off, crawl off.
If you can’t crawl off, I’ll come get you.’

Safe spaces, coloring books and puppies to sooth those frazzled nerves.

I won't complain about the puppies.

Everyone likes a cute, fuzzy puppy.
puppy.JPG
Image Source
My wife says I have to put a Husky puppy in too.
hifive.JPG
Image Source
Good EFFORT , High Five me.

But no more free puppies.

Earn the puppy, at least TRY first.

Sort:  

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang is indeed the ish.... gotta find that vinyl on eBay now lol

And your wife is correct about the fur balls 🐶

Happy Monday! ⭐️

I haven't seen this movie since I was a tot - I have only the vaguest recollections of it. Although I was obsessed with Knight Rider at the time so I must have thought a car based movie was pretty cool.

I'll have to check it out again and see how much I remember.

I think it may be on YouTube in it's entirety.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BlindSquirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @theblindsquirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46